Sweet Potato Casserole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I have been doing this recipe for the last 3 years! I get request through out the year for this dish. OUTSTANDING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I cut the amount of sugar in half and did not put flour on the top. It was fantastic and everyone at my thanksgiving party loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
YUM! My only complaint about this recipe would be that the amount of potatoes needed is a little unclear. I discovered eventually that you need 3 cups of already mashed potatoes. I measured the 3 cups when chopped and raw. Then I cooked and mashed them, leaving me with about half as much as necessary, so I had to cook and mash a second batch. So if you're wondering how many sweet potatoes makes 3 cups mashed, I'd say about 6-7 average sized sweet potatoes. Other than that, it's a wonderful recipe! I don't like sweet potatoes, but these were good enough that even I had a helping. My family went nuts over them for Thanksgiving. I made two batches, one with the recipe's topping, one with caramel and toasted marshmallows. Both got rave reviews. p.s. I used cream because I didn't have any evapoted milk, and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: American Fork, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Halved the sugar and added Grand Marnier into the topping. I can't cook and people raved about this at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smart cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I never liked sweet potatoes until I had these. LOVE them!! I did cut sugar back to 1/2 as some other reviewers suggested. I put pecans only on half. Kids dont like nuts. Just wonderful! Reheats fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I use yams instead of sweet potatoes, they are not the same thing and I prefer yams. Yams are naturally very sweet so when using yams, cut the sugar down by adding 1/4 cup at a time to taste. Sweet potatoes are not as sweet as yams so more sugar should be used. This dish is always a big hit for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrezia
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
My girlfriends and I were not originally planning on making this but after the sweet potatoes were boiled too long to make candied yams we decided we could not just throw them away. So we stumbled upon this recipe and let me tell you it was the best thing at the dinner table. It goes to show you that sometimes the best things happen accidentally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrezia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is the best sweet potato recipe ever!!! I would definatley reccommend this to anyone. It is very easy and so yummy. Everyone at my party went back for seconds and thirds. This will be at every dinner party I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Made this for thanksgiving and it was wonderful. Everyone liked it including my picky daughter. The only change I made was to add some nutmeg and cinnamon. Will be using this again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Front Royal, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This recipe was absolutely WONDERFUL!!! My grandma is an EXCELLENT cook and even makes her own sweet potato dish for Thanksgiving, but this one is even better than hers (I never thought that was even possible). My fiance, and all three kids give this a huge thumbs up! I will definately make again and again and again and.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ImThePrincess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States