Sweet Potato Casserole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This was a good recipe, but I have had better for sweet potatoe casserole. I only used 1/2 the amount of white sugar and for us that was PLENTY. As well, I will probably add some cinnamon and/or nutmeg to the mixture next time. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Very good, not too sweet, just right. The only thing I will add next time I make it will be cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA
Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was actually really good. I gave it 4 stars because I personally thought it was way too sweet. My husband loved it though. I think when I make it again, I'll reduce the sugar (both white and brown). Also, I didn't put the pecans in it because we didn't have them and we aren't really pecan people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Bo Becky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Perfect with a few changes! I cut the sugar and butter by at least half - still plenty sweet! I also used skim milk. This is delicious hot and cold - nice to send in the kid's lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Lovely recipe, but cut down the sugar! I used half a cup brown for the topping, 1/4 cup white in the bottom. I left out the butter for the bottom. Before adding the topping, I sprinkled with nutmeg and cinnamon. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I don't think anyone especially cared for this casserole. It had a bland flavor and a strange, chunky texture. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAGNYDAGNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reisterstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was really really good! HOWEVER: you can cut WAY down on the sugars. I cut both into 1/4 cups and added butter only to the topping. It was very sweet and buttery without all the extra sugar and butter and healthier too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVEBUGSMAMMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Absecon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This is definitely a five star recipe!The best sweet potato casserole I've ever had, and will continue to use it and share it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This is really good. A hit at all holiday parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I had to try this for Christmas Dinner. I tried doing a shortcut and used drained sweet potatoes in a can. That was my mistake. Cooked Sweet Potatoes wont give you the extra water that occurs with using the ones in the can even when you drain them. The flavor was excellent and everyone loved them but the extra water made the texture what they weren't supposed to be so next time Im taking the time to peel and cook real sweet potatos and I bet it will be even more awesome....when my sister and son wanted to take home some leftovers, I had to watch that they didn't take all the crunchy pecan topping,lol This will be a staple for our holiday dinners. BYE BYE Marshmallow sweet potato dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeahW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States