Sweet Potato Casserole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Delicious! My family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This was super easy to make. I added a 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg and almost a full tsp. of cinnamon. I didn't have pecans, but I did have slivered almonds, so I subbed those in the topping. I made no other changes. I was able to spread the casserole in a circular baking dish, there wouldn't have been enough to spread in a 9x13 unless you spread it super thin. I'll update this once my family tries it. EDITED: Super yummy but really rich and sweet. If I were to make this again, I'd cut back on both sugars a bit and actually use pecans. This is a stellar dessert, just a bit sweet. This is better as a dessert, not part of a dinner. I might even serve it with cream next time, to cut the sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Wonderful recipe! I made it for Thanksgiving and now my family is requesting it again for Xmas. Wonderful, delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
We love this! I, our children & my father-in-law do not like sweet potatoes. I made this for Thanksgiving and will do so again for Christmas. The only suggestion my husband had was to cut back on the topping (pecans, brown sugar, butter)as it was a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I actually made this recipe twice this past Thanksgiving and will be making it again this Christmas by high demand. The only thing I would suggest is adding an extra potato or two or not so much sugar or vanilla. I did that the second time around and it was fantastic. I also barely mashed the potato. more or less just mixed a little. It's a texture thing with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Its great We add whipping cream and serve as a dessert delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I made this recipe this past Thanksgiving for the first time, and it was super great! I took it to a family gathering and everyone had second servings, or third. The only change: I used Splenda instead of white sugar. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piracicaba, São Paulo, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
AMAZING! Even people that don't really like sweet potatos loved this recipe. I did double the topping recipe as suggested. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This recipe rocks! Very good without being overpoweringly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Awesome! My family LOVED this dish! Even those who don't like sweet potatoes were going back for seconds. This recipe just restored my cooking reputation and will forever be a staple in our Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States