Sweet Potato Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Excellent recipe. This was my sister's dish to bring over on Thanksgiving, but she's moved away and didn't join us this year. I was very happy to come across your recipe. My sister's ingredients were the same, but I didn't have the exact measurements to prepare. Now I can continue the traditional sweet potato casserole for Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners. (The only thing I added was a pinch of vanilla extract.) The reason I rated it low for Kid Friendly was that my 8 year old daughter and her 4 & 6 year old cousins wouldn't touch it since it was "orange and mushy." I'm sure if they would have tried it they would have loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This was WONDERFUL! My family loved it, even my very picky 8 year old daugther. I made it twice during the thanksgiving season. Once I used spleda instead of the sugar. It tasted great. This will be a recipe I will use all year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Delicious! I wanted it to be more of a souffle style, so I added 2 eggs and 1/4 cup of evaporated milk. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aCookInLaQuintaCA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I made this for my family to rave reviews and then for my husbands family and received the same. It has now become a family favorite. I like it because it is quick, easy and can be made in advance. Thanks so much Stephanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Levittown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
Finally I can have sweet potatoes at Thanksgiving (I don't really like them!). This casserole is AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
My family loved this recipe. It was simple to make, I actually used a can of yams which had been in sweetened syrup and I added a small can of crushed pineapple. . One of the comments was that it was "very sweet". I think that's because of the yams being packed in syrup. But, my point is, this was super easy to make and was a big hit with my family. I will use this recipe again, and again, and again.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Everyone at the table this Thanksgiving loved this recipe, but I didn't mash the yams. Here's how I made it: I cut the yams into bite-sized chunks (not too small) and boiled as directed until they were fork tender. Then I drained them and laid the cooked (unmashed) yams out into a baking dish. I melted the butter in the microwave and mixed it in with the orange juice, cinnamon and brown sugar, and poured that over the yams. Then topped with 1/2 bag of marshmallows not the whole bag, and baked for about 15 min. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fife, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
Excellent exactly as is - no changes needed. This tasted great as leftovers for days - everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
I never had sweet potatoes mashed before. I had only ever had them in chunks. I LOVED this and will never eat chunky sweet potatoes again. Mashed is the way to go!!! Everyone loved this. I will probably continue to make this each Thanksgiving and maybe throughout the year!!! I didn't have orange juice on hand, so I used apple. I used canned yams instead of peeling and slicing the sweet potatoes. SO SO easy. It was great - the best sweet potato recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Really good recipe. Next time I will cut back on the orange juice to 1 tablespoon as it was a bit too "orangy" for our taste and increase the margarine to compensate. Served this with the Fruity Grilled Pork Tenderloin and applesauce on the side, and it made for a delicious dinner! Will be making both these recipes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States