Sweet Potato Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
this recipe was simple, quick, and hit with my family & coworkers. I used canned sweet potatoes, and it came out great, 1 one pound can with this recipe. I added a dash of vanilla extract just for kicks. I made this recipex3 to make enough, then when I had left overs I scooped it into a graham cracker crust with fresh marshmallows on top,baked @350 degrees until marshmallows are light brown, the pie was a hit too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
412 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
DELICIOUS!!! I got many compliments on this at the Thanksgiving table. 3 hours after dinner was over my sister went back to heat up more of this! I made the recipe as is, but I added a "streusel" topping - mix 1 cup packed brown sugar, 1/2 cup all-purpose flour, 3/4 cup Quaker quick cooking oats with 1/2 cup softened butter until it is like coarse crumbs and sprinkle this over the marshmallows. It tastes just like the Sweet Potatoes at Boston Market! I also covered mine with foil and baked for 10 min., then uncovered and baked an additional 5 min, so some marshmallows had melted but most of them got toasty. The only change I would make next time is to add some milk when mashing the sweet potatoes - I would have liked them creamier...all in all extremely yummy.......I will make this at Christmas too! ('05) P.S. Thanksgiving '07- I used this with 3 cans of canned yams this year to save time.....worked great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
367 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and it was good but didn't seem to wow anyone. I agree with the other reviews about that "orangey" taste -- it just wasn't something that many people warmed up to. If I made them again I would nix the orange juice as well. I tried a diff recipe for Christmas and overall it was a much bigger hit with the same people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Very easy to make. I used canned potatoes and it turned out well. Next time though I will use a little less orange juice. Found it a little to prominent in the overall taste. My family loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
I made this dish for Thanksgiving last year and was looking for it again for this year's menu and realized I hadn't rated it! Of course it was wonderful or we wouldn't be coming back to this recipe. I loved a lot of things about it -- you can add anything, coconut, pecans, or just keep it as is and it will be great. You could use a little less sugar, but we are used to the sweetness of this recipe with our traditional Thanksgiving dinner. My absolute favorite part of this recipe is no eggs! I hate the eggy taste in some casseroles and this one holds together just right with no eggs. Great for people with allergies too. Thanks for this recipe which will be making it's second Thanksgiving appearance with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Wow, really yummy! I added some graham crackers, brown sugar and butter to make a crunchy topping. I also only used 1/2 the bag of marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Excellent recipe. This was my sister's dish to bring over on Thanksgiving, but she's moved away and didn't join us this year. I was very happy to come across your recipe. My sister's ingredients were the same, but I didn't have the exact measurements to prepare. Now I can continue the traditional sweet potato casserole for Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners. (The only thing I added was a pinch of vanilla extract.) The reason I rated it low for Kid Friendly was that my 8 year old daughter and her 4 & 6 year old cousins wouldn't touch it since it was "orange and mushy." I'm sure if they would have tried it they would have loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I did not care for the consistancy of this, but I did use a hand mixer to "blend" the mixture. If I had just mashed them slightly it would have possibly been better. This was way too sweet. All sweet potato casseroles will be sweet. The key is to get the ingredients, textures, and flavors to blend to a sweetness which compliment each other. This was not so. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
This was pretty good but I don't really like the "orange" flavor in the potatoes. If I make this again, I'm nixing the orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by faeriecat
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Oh what a delicious dish! We adore sweet potatoes around here and eat them at least once a week in various forms. I made this recipe for Thanksgiving the first time, and it was just awesome. The only changes I made were to add some powdered ginger, and to use a potato masher to mix everything up, because we like a few lumps. So yummy, and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faeriecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States