Sweet Potato Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Delicious recipe. I left out the orange juice the second time I made it and liked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This recipe was easy, fast and great tasting. Made this as a side dish for a Easter brunch with BBQ ribs and it was a hit. I will have to make two dishes next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
We really liked this variation over the soufflé types. It's a very straightforward recipe without all the "fluff". The orange juice is key just add a little at a time so it's not too runny. The only thing I did differently was to boil the potatoes and then peel, and added a pinch of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made this for the first time last year, my husband thought it wouldn't go over well with the guests...boy was he WRONG!!! Everyone LOVED it and it has been requested again. Now I'm known for this amazing dish...so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
The casserole was good but I think that it was a bit "too much" and could have used more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Great base recipe. I'm giving it 4 stars because it IS such a great base-and no eggs! Didn't like the orange juice, and thought it was way to much sugar. I used half the brown sugar, and added 2 tbls of Maple Syrup instead. Also added 1/2 tsp of ground ginger, and just a pinch of chayenne to add a little zip. I also found with all the holiday baking-instead of boiling the sweet potatos, I roasted them on the bottom rack. Made a MUCH sweeter caserole. And there were no extra pots to wash. All in all, my kids favorite by far-is the marshmallows! But they'll eat anything coated in toasted sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This was great especially if you add a couple of cups of chopped walnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Made this for my Dad, scaled down for 1 potato. Wasn't sure about the OJ so left it out. Know what he said? He said he gave it a 4 but it would get a 5 if it had a little OJ! I (who am not a huge sweet potato fan) tried it before cooking and liked it better without the OJ, but my Dad, who loves sweet potatoes would have liked this exact recipe better. Lesson learned. This recipe gets a 5 from the expert. Point to learn for all of us giving reviews: we ALL like our own tweaks better, the point is to REVIEW BASED ON THE ORIGINAL RECIPE!!!!!!! Thank you Stephanie, my Dad and I owe you one. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I did a test run before taking it to a Holiday feast, and with the marshmallows in addition to the brown sugar, it was too sweet for me, and I have a pretty big sweet tooth. When I make it for the feast, I will leave out the brown sugar altogether, add salt, and drastically reduce the number of marshmallows used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I made this recipe on Thanksgiving. I didn't have any orange juice so I skipped that step. I must say this was the best sweet potatoe casserole I have ever had. I added a dash of vanilla just for kicks and it was simply amazing. I am making it for a side for dinner tomorrow for some dinner guests. Thanks for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States