Sweet Potato Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I made this for Easter and it was a hit with the family. I did adapt the recipe according to what others have suggested. I used two 29-oz cans of cut sweet potatoes instead of cooking my own. I substitued evaporated milk for the regular milk and I think it made it more creamy. I used dark brown sugar for the white sugar and I cut that back to 3/4 cup since others said 1 cup made it too sweet. I upped the vanilla to 1 tsp. I was going to add 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg and 1/2 tsp. salt to the mixture but I forgot until it was too late. But I did manage to get a sprinkling of cinnamon on the casserole before I put the topping on. I made a double batch of the topping and baked it all in a 9 x 13 pan. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
615 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Laurel, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
This was delicious. I tried it a few days before Thanksgiving and even my husband (who will never eat sweet potatoes) asked for me to make again it for Thanksgiving dinner!!! You need about 5 or 6 medium sweet potatoes to get 4 1/2 cups mashed. I made a few adjustments the second time I made it and it was even better. 1.) used 1/3 cup evaporated milk instead of regular 2) seasoned potato mixture with 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
360 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I have made a recipe similar to this one for several years. One of my best recipes. I use real maple syrup instead of white sugar in the mashed sweet potatoes and don't use flour in the topping. You may want to double the topping. Very yummy. Tastes great warmed up but doesn't look as pretty. You can make it ahead of time but keep the topping separate until ready to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
323 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shasta Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I noticed this receipe and just had to comment. It has been in our family for years. We always have it during the holidays and even our daughters in-laws ask her to bring it. The only difference I noticed is that I usually use canned sweet potatoes (one large and one small) this way it is always on hand. Also, I place the pecans on top first then add the flour, brown sugar mixture on top. I melt the margarine and drizzle on top of this mixture. Does not need to completely cover as it will flow over areas not covered as it cooks. It is a receipe that I have had for about 30 years from my mother-in-law and now my daughter makes it also for her in-laws. It is great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This is a great recipe, except for the fact that the directions are not set up to correctly to properly make this item right. Such as the butter, one part you melt it, the other part you don't, but it doesn't state that in the recipe on which.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
Everyone loved this dish at my Christmas dinner. It was not too sweet had just the right texture. I roasted the potatoes in the oven (instead of boiling; it's easier and they are more flavorful) and made 1 1/2 times the topping. Be sure to use a shallow baking dish as it will take much longer to bake if you don't. Great recipe and Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Used canned sweet potatoes and reduced the amount of white sugar to compensate for the syrup. Loved the crunchy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
My family has the traditional Italian Christmas so I thought I throw the family off and bring this casserole. My father is a big major food critic in our family and he loved it. My mom is a sweet potato lover and will basically eat them just plainly baked. My family never really had this before so it was great new addition. Since we have American additions to our family through marriage we had to tweak our Christmas dinner. This recipe is awesome & the kids love it! I am a new lover of sweet potatoes & I wanted to try to make a casserole so I did this receipe. It turned out great however the pecan streusal was way too much so next time I think I will half it and use it sparingly, I also think this would just be great with the marshmallows on top or even by itself. But the marshmallows is always good presentation. I also used a half cup of sugar which was plenty of sugar for it and I used a tad bit more of vanilla. I will definitely use this recipe over and over again. The sweet potato part was creamy, perfectly sweetened with the half cup of sugar and it was fluffy and light. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annamaria Settanni McDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This is easy to make and a huge holiday hit! In fact I made it Christmas morning this year and it took about 20 minutes. I use half of the white and half of the brown sugar the recipe calls for and it is sweet enough for us. The only trouble I have is estimating how many potatoes is equal to 4 1/2 cups. I buy 5-7 sweet potatoes depending on size and am usually in the 4 1/2 -5 1/2 cup range in the end. I highly recommend giving this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
I found this recipe looking to break the traditional marshmallow/sweet potato combo. I pulled this off Thanksgiving.com and WOW, it was a huge hit. My husband's family couldn't get enough! My sister-in-law asked me for the recipe and is making it this year as a side with Christmas dinner. MAKE IT WITH FRESH SWEET POTATOES ONLY! It's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 899) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States