Sweet Potato Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
I took a gamble and made this for Thanksgiving without "testing" the recipe first, and am happy I did. This is such yummy sweet potato casserole! I doubt I'll try another recipe again, this one was perfect! I added a little more brown sugar, so it was like a dessert. A little tip is that if you stir in a cup of mini marshmallows before putting this in the baking dish and stir them around a little you have marshmallow surprises throughout the casserole and not just on top. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
420 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I added 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp *fresh* nutmeg, and 1 tsp orange peel spice. Wonderful! 5 sweet potatoes doesn't make enough for a 13x9x2" pan though - use a 1 1/2 qt. casserole dish instead. If you want to use a 13x9x2" dish, use 9 slim sweet potatoes, 3/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup orange juice, 1/2 tsp. fresh nutmeg, 2 tsp. cinnamon, 1 1/2 tsp. orange peel spice, and 1/4 cup butter. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
358 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This recipe is really good. The second time I made it, I used half the amount of orange juice, and I preferred it this way. The entire amount of oj overpowered the sweet potatoes. You can make this a day ahead and refrigerate. Bring to room temp., heat covered for 30 min., uncover and add marshmallows and cook for 10 more minutes. When reheating leftovers, you also have to add fresh marshmallows. This is really a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
298 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Made this for Christmas and even the pickiest eaters loved it. One tip, I made it with drained canned yams to save time and effort. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
My family has done a variation of this recipe for as long as I can remeber. It's great. Important to note that using an electric mixer is important for removing all of the strings from the potatoes, so dont shake the forks off. Also, if preparing hours in advance, dont't put the marshmellows on to bake. wait until 5mins before serving, stick them on and put dish in to brown for 3 to 5 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
We've been making this dish for YEARS! It is an old holiday favourite that we all look forward to each and every year. The only variations that we make are to add a tiny bit of nutmeg and we also don't use a mixer on the sweet potatoes after they have been boiled. We prefer to have it less "mushy" and with a bit more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Great. My only suggestion would be to halve the orange juice since I felt that the original amount was a little overpowering. No one else noticed so maybe I did just because I knew it was there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
My husband loved this casserole! It was so easy to make, and I made it less hectic at dinner time by preparing the potato mixture ahead of time. Out of the fridge, I popped it in the oven for 10 min, added the marshmallows, and baked till done. My husband will now want this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Absolutely delicious! So easy to make and my entire family gobbled it right up. This one is a keeper! My first try, I made the recipe exactly as written and it was perfect. The second time, I didn't have any mini marshmallows so I tried marshmallow fluff. This did not turn out as well. It was rock hard. The marshmallow got hard and gelled into one large lump. I lifted it off and threw it away. We still enjoyed the sweet potato portion, though. I will only use mini marshmallows going forward. I also tried adding 1/2 cup chopped pecans for a different texture. A great variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I've used this recipe now for about 3 years and every Thanksgiving, Christmas and Easter my family wants it! Huge hit! I followed the tips given that suggest adding 3/4 c brown sugar, 1/4 c orange juice, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1 1/2 tsp orange peel spice, and 2 tsp cinnamon. I also added a little more butter and if it doesn't taste right I add more brown sugar and cinnamon, depending on how I like it. You can do this recipe with 5 large sized sweet potatoes and fill a 13x9 in. pan no problem. And I use an electric mixer to to blend it all together and don't shake the stirrer so that most of the strings aren't in the casserole. You will LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States