Sweet Potato Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was actually better 2 days later. The flavors had time to meld. Most of the kids liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was very easy, which is good because this was my first attempt at making a sweet potato casserole. It definitely won't be the last - it was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I have never given a bad review before, but I can honestly say that if I could give negative stars here, I would. This was cloyingly sweet. I was expecting it to be sweet because of the ingredients, but this was so sweet it was sickening. The addition of the orange juice was much too overpowering. Don't make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
It did in a pinch. I needed more marshmallows, the more the better and I just didn't have enough IMHO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Excellent recipe! I tripled this recipe for my large family function. I baked the sweet potatoes instead of boiling them. I didn't have a big enough pot to boil them in. I also used less orange juice because it can over power the sweet potato flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Knight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
i received many compliments on this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
First time I've tried the American classic combo sweet potatoes + marshmallows. Considering I've tried sweet potatoes pretty much every other way I thought I should give it a shot. Only change was using butter, though I would suggest reducing it to 2-3 TB. Oh and I kept the recipe amount for OJ, no need to alter it. The recipe didn't make enough to fill a 9x13 for me so I used a round pan and consequently half the amount of marshmallows. Yummy overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I make this every year for my annual holiday party and it's always a hit with the guests! I never have any leftovers of this and its a dish I'd make again and again for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Really good! I added a little more brown sugar and a little more oj.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I know I'm in the minority, but I really didn't enjoy this recipe. I followed the directions to the tee, but the combination of orange juice and marshmallows was too sickly sweet. None of my guests liked it, either. It was the one dish that was left on each of their plates. If you like a spicy, nutty, grounded dish, this is definitely not for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States