Sweet Potato Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I make this almost every Thanksgiving or Christmas, depending on how full my table is because Grandma taught me how to make it and it's just tradition and comfort for me. I use butter instead of margerine and I add a bit of nutmeg along with the cinnamon and I just kind of eyeball it. I also use fresh orange juice and a bit of fresh orange rind. Grandma taught me to stir in a handful or two of marshmallows into the mashed sweet potatoes before topping with the remaining marshmallows so you get some in with your casserole, too. Good stuff. Grandma added pecans, too, but my family isn't big on nutty sweet potatoes. Weirdos. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Everyone loved this at Thanksgiving. I added about 3/4 cup of pecans just for the heck of it, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
this was awesome! my first try and it tasted great! even my 3 year old son loved it and he doesnt like potatoes...but the trick was to tell him there were marshmallows... i used canned sweet potatoes(29 oz) and used the same measurements and added a pinch of nutmeg, and used an 8.5X11.5 casserole...will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I grew tired of my old candied yams recipe and found this. I used 2 29 oz cans and only 1/4 cup of brown sugar. After reading reviews about the OJ being overpowering, I cut it down to 1 tablespoon. I also added way more than a pinch of cinnamon (also some nutmeg and ginger). It turned out delicious and I think I may have a replacement for our traditional holiday fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I have made this every Thanksgiving since finding it. I really like that this recipe in that it is not as sweet as other sweet potato casseroles, that taste more like a dessert than a side dish. I could really taste the sweet potato. I did roast them on a pan at 410 deg. for 45 min. in the oven than cooled, peeled, and mashed. Glad to have found this recipe with the right balance of flavors for a great holiday side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Turned out really well! was very yummy, just the right amount of sweetness. Family loved it, even the ones who dont eat sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEENER2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Great recipe! I served this over the holidays and was told it was better than family's recipe for sweet potato casserole. I added a little more butter than this recipe called for and I used real butter. I also added some nutmeg. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
awesome as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcoito

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was good. I halved the OJ and it was still overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States