Sweet Potato Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This is very close to how my mom use to make it for Thanksgiving. For sure a keeper yummmmmmyyyyy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kevin Nord
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Loved the marshmallows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Nord
Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I prepared this dish last night for Thanksgiving, following the recipe exactly, and it was super easy to make and really delicious. The only note I wanted to share is that this recipe renders a lot more servings than you think. We had so many other dishes (mashed potatoes, salads, stuffing, etc.) that most people only took one scoop, especially since it's a dish that is on the sweeter/richer side so most people won't have more than that. We had 8 people at our table and the recipe that makes 8 servings could have been cut in half and still would have been plenty. I had more than half of the 9" x 13" pan leftover. So if you don't want a whole ton of leftovers then I would suggest pairing the recipe down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Great Recipe. I only used half the orange juice and added a dash of nutmeg. Perfect. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is a classic holiday favorite! I think it's so much easier to bake the yams until fork-tender, about 25 minutes, rather than boil them because then the skin just comes right off. I mash them up with the ¼ tsp. of cinnamon, 1/8 tsp. of nutmeg, ¾ cup of packed light brown sugar, ¼ cup of real butter and 3T. of fresh squeezed orange juice. Lastly, I sprinkled a layer of crushed pecans on top of the sweet potatoes and mini-marshmallows. I place the sweet potatoes back in the oven and bake at 350 degrees for 2 to 3 minutes until the mini-marshmallows melt and becomes slightly golden brown. The yams are always sweet and creamy, the marshmallow topping is nicely toasted, ooey and gooey- a nice touch. The crunchy pecans and brown sugar topping which adds a nice carmelized crunchy texture on the top of the sweet potatoes! The orange juice gives a nice layer of flavor! The yams (sweet potatoes) are high in fiber so I indulged with absolutely no guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This recipe is amazing! Definitley a keeper, although I did make one slight change. I didn't have any orange juice at hand so I used about a teaspoon of fresh lemon juice instead. I used this for Thanksgiving 2011 and It'll be back next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anne365

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
With all the great reviews I decided to just go with this recipe. I made it exactly as written and it turned out looking beautiful but didn't taste good! My husband was sooo mad at me, the orange juice was so over bearing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Great recipe! Followed the suggestions of others and cut down on the amount of orange juice. Also did a mixture of brown sugar, butter, & pecans to add under the layer of marshmallows. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This came out great. I did add a bit more butter and brown sugar because I like them really sweet. Also I did not use the OJ because I did not have any on hand. They came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Great recipe! Even my 11-year old, who does not like sweet potatoes, loved this! I followed the review that said to use less orange juice--that was definitely correct. If you use the amount recommended, it overpowers the sweet potato flavor. I also made it ahead of time and used the same reviewer's reheating instructions. Perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States