Sweet Potato Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Hands down my favorite dish this Christmas. As I finished adding all the called for ingredients to the yams I got super scared because it was really "soupy/runny" and I thought I messed up on the measurements and ALMOST added cornstarch to thicken it and was really worried it was ruined. Glad I didn't add anything because after baking, it thickened up perfectly! I made the recipe exactly as stated except minor changes. I used my hand mixer to get it smooth, and I made a layer of 1/2 the sw. potato mixture then topped with marshmallows then another layer with the rest of the sw. potatoes and topped it off with the pecan crumble mixture. I broiled it the last couple minutes to make sure the topping was nice and crisp. It was FABULOUS! The topping tasted like those yummy candied pecans in the paper cones you get from the fair :) I'm on day 2 of the leftovers and they are still amazingly delicious! (even tho the topping isn't crunchy anymore) YAY!!! for this recipe!! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by victoriafgna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I only bought one can of Yams - 29 ounces. I adjusted the recipe down to 6 servings to accommodate the one can I bought. Oh my goodness was this absolutely delicious!!! I thought for sure when I put it in the oven that it was going to be a bust. To my & my son's Christmas delight, this came out PERFECT! This will be my goto recipe every Christmas!!! All I can say is yum, yum & yummy!!! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Way, way, way too sweet as written. I didn't change the topping, but put in 1/4 of the recommended sugar, and left out the butter in the casserole. Turned out wonderfully, it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! This one is a new holiday favorite. Thanks for sharing, Nancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I like that this recipe makes an 8x8 casserole dish, and that it makes use of the canned sweet potatoes. It goes together very easy. I was able to make it the night before Thanksgiving and then just pop it in the oven. Nice crunchy topping, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEENYBO
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Made this sweet potato casserole for Thanksgiving dinner. It was very well liked and I'm sure to make it again. I cut the white sugar in half and added 3/4 tsp. of cinnamon and 3/4 tsp. of all spice. It was delicious. We received nothing but positive responses from folks who never liked sweet potatoes. It was received more as a dessert rather than a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Made this last year for 170 people. Two huge professional grade pans of sweet potatoes. Made one and cut the sugar in half with marshmellows. Made one as directed. The one with the most sugar got he best votes. It was good either way. I don't like sweet potatoes and I liked the really sweet one because it was almost like a dessert. Gave five stars because I got such raved reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Love this recipe. I've made it quite a few times. It is quite sweet and winds up more for dessert that's even better with ice cream. Sometimes I do cut down on the sugar so it will be less dessert-like. I'd love to know hot to make this night before for say - a church function - and then how to reheat the entire thing. I don't want to overcook it. Also it'd be nice to know whether or not its okay for the topping to not be crisp or how it should be because the potatoes get done but what sticks to the knife coming out is the topping. I've overcooked mine before trying to make sure it was indeed done. Any suggestions on the reheating email me at adtset@gmail.com. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Great recipe, I've been asked every time how to make this dish. It is simple and tasty. I agree you can cut back on the sugar. I also skip the pecans most of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This turned out perfect! It was SO good! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Creek, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States