Sweet Potato Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
a huge hit on thanksgiving!!! even for the people who claimed that they didn't like sweet potatoes. it's like a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bec1nky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Sooooo good! It's already been requested for our next family get together. I doubled the topping just to make sure I would have plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lawrenceburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Eubank, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
MMmmmmm! This was soooo delicious! BEST sweet potatoes I have ever eaten! I would suggest lessening the sugar mixed with the potatoes though and perhaps using brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by x0xmandaxpandax0x

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Yummy! I substituted walnuts for the pecans only because that is what I had on hand! Adding this to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Super delicious. The pecans gave it a nice crunch to the mushy consistency. I agree with the others, its best to bake the sweet potatoes in the oven for about 1 1/2 hours to fully let it cook in its own sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
My family doesn't like Sweet Potatoes. Or at least they think they don't. I made this for Thanksgiving and no one really had it. Those that liked sweet potatoes raved about how good it was. Those that don't like sweet potatoes didn't touch it. The second time I made it, though, I made sure the crunchy top looked more like a "crisp" dessert and told them it was something new I tried called a Pumpkin Crisp - like apple but with pumpkin. They ate every bite and made me promise to make it for Christmas dinner! This recipe was great. The only change I made was I used fresh sweet potatoes. Other than that, great as is! :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving this year, having never made it before. Let me start off by saying this is VERY sweet! I love sweet things, so that is fine with me, but it was almost like a dessert it was so sweet! Secondly, it was a bit runny. I followed the instructions completely and my sweet potatoes were mush by the time I was done cooking them. After letting it sit for a bit after baked it did thicken a little, and trust me, we all still ate it. But I would suggest maybe cooking the sweet potatoes only for about 5 minutes, if at all! Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaineMamaOf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Way too much sugar! Cut the sugar in 1/2 (at least) and I cut back on the butter as well. The fresh sweet potatoes tasted way better than the canned also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scrosenow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Sensational! The best sweet potato casserole I have ever tasted. Received rave reviews from the family at Thanksgiving Dinner. Has fast become one of our new traditions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Countess Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I accidentally purchased canned sweet potatoes packed in a light syrup. So, I drained them, added the butter, and about a 1/4 cup of dark brown sugar (and nothing else). I also added an extra 1/2 cup of pecans to the topping (there just weren't enough nuts for me). The casserole turned out great. It was easy to make and was an awesome compliment to our Thanksgiving Day meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States