Sweet Potato Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This is a keeper! Great with turkey,chicken, or pork, or even a small dish alone. Have to be very exact with ingredient amounts or can turn out runny, but recipe delivers as advertised. Just be sure to drain the sweet potato's thoroughly after cooking. I did alter the 8 serving portion a bit for personal taste: it's very sweet, so reduced white sugar to 1/2 cup; added 3/4 tsp each of ground cinnamon and allspice; used evaporated milk instead of regular milk...makes for a creamier mixture; and be careful not to overdo the pecans (one cup is a lot!). Everyone always wants seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
My children ask for this recipe every Thanksgiving, Christmas, and Easter. I usually don't bring the canned sweet potatoes to a boil first, however; I just use them drained right out of the can, and increase the baking time of the casserole to about 50minutes to 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
This was delicious with pork chops, so it's not just for Thanksgiving...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
this is the one! pecans add a more sophisticated touch than marshmallows and cut the sweetness and boy, is it sweet. Don't use the canned yams. Instead use 3 cups (approx. 3 potatoes) of real mashed sweet potatoes. Sooo much better. And you can get away with decreasing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
This is a yummy, yummy dish. I made this three times over this last holiday season. Since I only had the 29 ounce cans, I used 2 of those cans and multiplied the recipe by 1.5, and baked it in a 9x13 casserole dish. It came out perfect! I had to bake it for more than 35 minutes...more like 45-50 minutes. Yummy! I'll be making this for every holiday. Added 12/22/06: I also made it this year and it's just as yummy! This time I baked the same 1.5 times the recipe and split into two 2-quart trays, and baked it for about 45 minutes. It was yummy and made it easy to bake one recipe for two potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
A scrumptious, oh-so-easy version of the classic Southern holiday dish. This was a huge hit -- I took it to a potluck and got tons of compliments. The filling was a bit liquidy, so next time I will cut down on the milk and butter. (Please note that you do DRAIN the potatoes after you cook them; I've made this four times now and I'm 2 for 4 on remembering that.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I MADE THIS FOR THANKSGIVING AND IT WAS A HUGE HIT.SO MUCH SO, THAT IT'S ALEADY BEEN REQUESTED FOR CHRISTMAS.....I WILL HAVE TO DOUBLE THE RECIPE THIS TIME SINCE IT WENT SO FAST BEFORE...YUMMY..AND IT HEATS UP VERY WELL THE NEXT DAY..............
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
This recipe went over so well at Thanksgiving I'm making it again today (Christmas) by popular request! This one will NOT disappoint - it's DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I picked this recipe out of the All Recipes cookbook..Thanksgiving and Christmas. It is beautiful and taste wonderful. Just licking the spoon was a treat! Make it and forget about the marshmellow kind this is THE sweet potato recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
My family loves this! I have been asked to bring this to our family get togethers for the last 3 years and I'll be bringing it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States