Sweet Potato Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Yummy! I substituted walnuts for the pecans only because that is what I had on hand! Adding this to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Super delicious. The pecans gave it a nice crunch to the mushy consistency. I agree with the others, its best to bake the sweet potatoes in the oven for about 1 1/2 hours to fully let it cook in its own sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
My family doesn't like Sweet Potatoes. Or at least they think they don't. I made this for Thanksgiving and no one really had it. Those that liked sweet potatoes raved about how good it was. Those that don't like sweet potatoes didn't touch it. The second time I made it, though, I made sure the crunchy top looked more like a "crisp" dessert and told them it was something new I tried called a Pumpkin Crisp - like apple but with pumpkin. They ate every bite and made me promise to make it for Christmas dinner! This recipe was great. The only change I made was I used fresh sweet potatoes. Other than that, great as is! :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving this year, having never made it before. Let me start off by saying this is VERY sweet! I love sweet things, so that is fine with me, but it was almost like a dessert it was so sweet! Secondly, it was a bit runny. I followed the instructions completely and my sweet potatoes were mush by the time I was done cooking them. After letting it sit for a bit after baked it did thicken a little, and trust me, we all still ate it. But I would suggest maybe cooking the sweet potatoes only for about 5 minutes, if at all! Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaineMamaOf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Way too much sugar! Cut the sugar in 1/2 (at least) and I cut back on the butter as well. The fresh sweet potatoes tasted way better than the canned also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scrosenow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Sensational! The best sweet potato casserole I have ever tasted. Received rave reviews from the family at Thanksgiving Dinner. Has fast become one of our new traditions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Countess Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I accidentally purchased canned sweet potatoes packed in a light syrup. So, I drained them, added the butter, and about a 1/4 cup of dark brown sugar (and nothing else). I also added an extra 1/2 cup of pecans to the topping (there just weren't enough nuts for me). The casserole turned out great. It was easy to make and was an awesome compliment to our Thanksgiving Day meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
this was my first time making a sweet potato dish and it's a keeper! i also followed other reviews and used 1/2 to 2/3 cup white sugar and brown sugar - it had just the right amount of sweetness with this change. i also cut down on the amount of butter (to 1/4 approximately) and it still came out fine. the pecan/brown sugar topping is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This year I spent Thanksgiving with my boyfriend's family, but they had never had sweet potatoes. I took these over to their house, and they loved them! I also added marshmellows on top 1/2 of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khrysten1988

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
My review is mixed. I was sure this was going to be a hit because with all that butter, sugar, vanilla, and pecans, how could you go wrong? My mom said it was nothing special and I was literally shocked. On the other hand, my sister and niece ate half a pan. They thought it was out of this world. I did not have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States