Sweet Potato Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I just moved back to CA from NC and wanted to share a little bit of the south with my non-southern family. :) It was a huge hit at Thanksgiving and it was insisted that I bring it for Christmas! I did cut the sugar in half and it was still really sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe! Even better than my mom's! This will be a new family tradition for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Love this recipe. I've taken it to work functions and other get togethers and frequently been asked for the recipe-- I just send them the link to this recipe. Very simple to create, too. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is every bit as good as everyone says but I can only give it 4 stars. First, WAY too much sugar. Half a cup is plenty. Second if you use canned sweet potatoes you don't need to cook until tender which actually is a plus. However, they do need to cook about 15-20 min longer in the oven otherwise it was too loose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Bowen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Naples, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
wonderful. I used 3 medium sweet potatoes that I baked in the oven, much better than the canned ones. And the kids must have the marshmellows on top, but that is very good too. we have this every thanksgiving and Christmas and other times during the year as well. A family favorite and am always asked to bring it to gatherings....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Delicious... just like my Southern grandmother used to make. Instead of using the canned sweet potatoes, I used some leftover baked sweet potatoes. It gave me a really great, custard-like potato base. I think I preferred that to the option of using the canned sweet potatoes. The topping is what makes this a treat... it's a side dish and a dessert. I keep vanilla sugar and used it for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kt_simms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Definitely a hit at Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Loved this! I took it to a pot luck and was the only one who went home with an empty dish! Super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
It was great, and quick. I was up @ 4:45 am, and got started. I made 2 casseroles. 1 with nuts, and one without. I made green bean casserole, and injected the Turkey before my girlfriend got out of bed. I was off by 8:00am to do Meals on wheels. When I got home my girlfriend thought I had been up all night cooking, and the sweet potato casserole was a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly... This seems to be a popular dish, but it was way too sweet... everyone at Christmas dinner agreed! I would cut both the white sugar and the brown sugar in half. The constistancy of the dish was also too runny...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda B.

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 101-110 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States