Sweet Potato Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit with everyone!! The only reason i did not give this 5 stars, is because it was way too sweet for me. In the future, I will cut back on the sugar by half in both the sweet potato mixture and the strerusel topping or maybe add more sweet potatoes. My dad is a diabetic, so I used Splenda (brown and white) in this recipe without a problem. As a personal touch, rather than have all of the streusel on the top, I layered the sweet potatoes and streusel twice. This really helped distribute the streusel's crunch and flavor throughout the whole casserole, not just the top. This recipe will now be my first choice for a sweet potato casserole recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I always want to try a recipe exactly how it is listed, but it didn't happen that way for this Thanksgiving. I also didn't have any orange zest or coconut, so they were left out. It also helps if you really read the recipe. The ingredients for the topping were suppose to be set aside, but I didn't read far enough to "set aside" and added it to the mashed sweet potatoes. So I had that plus the rest of the ingredients. I did want that good topping so just used about 1/2 c of br. sugar with some chopped pecans. Even with my goofs, it was still a hit. It wasn't over powering with sweetness. I used Splenda brown sugar combination with real sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I made this for the first time for Thanksgiving last week and it was awesome. I used 5 large sweet potatoes, peeled and boiled, so the casserole would not be dessert-sweet (and so I'd have more leftovers!). I also omitted the coconut and orange zest. It was the perfect flavor. The pecan topping provides a great crunch. I'll be making this every year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Wonderfully flavored! I've made sweet potato casserole before but this recipe is so wonderful with the orange zest. I did reduce the orange zest to about 1/4 tsp and it was the perfect hint of citrus in this dish without overpowering it. I did omit the coconut. I made this for a family reunion and have had so many requests for this recipe, even from someone who hates sweet potatos. It makes a wonderful dessert also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaGurlie73

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
My family has prepared the same Christmas sweet potato casserole recipe for years. This year I decided to take a risk and try something new. The biggest fans of this recipe were the ones who never really liked sweet potatoes! The orange flavor was very fresh and light. The crunchy topping was also delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This was really good. I usually read reviews before I make a dish. I don't care for coconut so I left that out. Since I've never cooked a sweet potato before, I used canned yams per someone elses review. I don't care for sweet potatoes/yams but I did try this dish and it was very delicious. I'm making it again next week for another Thanksgiving potluck lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Overall, a good dish, but had way too much orange flavor that overpowered the other flavors. I would suggest cutting back the orange zest or eliminating it altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
These sweet potatoes were very good. I made them for some New Zealand friends who aren't used to mashing their sweet potatoes or eating them with sugar and they went back for seconds. I would definitely make these again. I did leave out the orange since I didn't have one in the house. I also share the opinion that the topping could be cut in half (and I really love sweet things) if you don't want it so sweet. I also think the egg is noticeable if you think about it, so maybe I'll cut down to one egg next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Governors Bay, Canterbury, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This is the BEST sweet potatoe recipe EVER! Sweet, smooth, taste wonderful. I love the hint of Orange zest. Really Wow'ed the family at Thanksgiving! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
i followed this exactly.it was a huge hit. definatley a keeper!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States