Sweet Potato Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This recipe was wonderful! The only thing I changed was the amount of sugar, otherwise it would have been absolutely too sweet for my family. I cut the brown sugar all the way down to 1/3 cup and the white sugar down to 1/4 cup. With these reductions it was still plenty sweet for us, perhaps because I used sweetened coconut in the topping. If I had used unsweetened coconut, I probably would have used a little more sugar but still not the full amount. I served this with a ham for Christmas and it was the perfect pairing. I'll definitely be making this recipe again and again...no need to look for another sweet potato casserole recipe (and there are a lot out there).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This is a GREAT recipe! I used 1/2 cup brown sugar in the potatoes instead of the white sugar, and I left out the coconut (my family doesn't like it) and it was awesome. In my opinion, the orange zest makes it 'different' and not the same-old sweet potato casserole. Next time I will use less sugar in the topping - it is a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This recipe was excellent! I received lots of compliments and will never make plain old baked sweet potatoes topped with butter and brown sugar ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was just perfect. This was the dish I was to bring to Thanksgiving tonight. I fully prepared it at home then brought it in an insulated carrier to be reheated at our destination. Though I heard a lot of disappointment when other guests found out I didn't make the sweet potatoes with marshmallows, they were INSTANTLY won over. I even got my boyfriend to eat (and like) it, even though he said he has never liked sweet potatoes. I was looking for a recipe close to what my late mother made every year. I believe this was it. I did not use coconut because mom's recipe never had it. I did not have an orange to zest, so I used 1 teaspoon of orange juice. I'm not sure it made any difference, the orange is a very subtle flavor in this dish. Also I used two large cans of sweet potatoes instead of fresh. Cheating, I know, but it was still good. Thanks for the keeper, I will make this throughout the year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I know it's kind of pointless to rate a recipe when you've changed it, but this was such a hit with my family that I wanted to anyway. I added a sweet potato, and used half the white sugar and orange zest that the recipe called for, and one egg instead of two. It was absolutely wonderful. I'll be making it again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This is a "must have" for every Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Excellent! A big hit at Thanksgiving last year. I come from a family of serious Southern cooks and they all gave this casserole a big thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
It was great! No leftovers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Whoa, I Was Looking For Something Diffrent This Year And It Says Thanksgiving But I Decided TO Try For Easter Awsome Everyone Loved It And Asked For The Recipe I had To Print Out 60 Copies, YUMMMMMMO. The Orange Zest Was Amazing,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I misplaced the recipe I usually use at Thanksgiving for sweet potato casserole and came across this one. I decided to take a chance and use it Thanksgiving 2007. It is my new recipe now. I stopped looking for the old one and have made this a solid addition to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States