Sweet Potato Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Big hit. Thanks for giving me the option to omit the coconut. This casserole almost stole the show from the turkey and dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What's Cookin' Mom?

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This is really good, I only gave it three stars because it is way to sweet. Cut the topping in half and it will be much better, the rest of the recipe is really good. I added cinnamon and nutmeg into the potato mixture and my family loved it. I'll make it again, but next time I'll reduce the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is a delicious recipe. I made it but omitted the eggs and added 2 TBSP of Bourbon! If you can find a recipe for Praline Pecans, use that then chop those for the topping! YUMMM!! Dang, now I am hungry again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I was wanting a healthier version so I just didn't add the 1 cup of white sugar or the white flour. I enjoyed the orange zest and used some huge chinks of cocnut from the health food store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I did add the coconut- wow was it good. I may try without next time just to see the difference. But if you at all like coconut- or want to try something a little different- try the coconut and it wont be the average sweet potato casserole. I agree with someone else- I may cut down on egg, too. And to keep it from being too sweet- every time I measured- I left out just a little bit of sugar- as not to truly mess with the integrity of the recipe- just a matter of taste. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Great recipe but i wouldn't add the sugar as the sweet potatoes have a great flavor regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
The orange flavor is very good but quite strong in case you don't care for orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I agree that the toppings for this recipe could be halved and still taste great. I also thought with the orange zest that a little ginger root would be great so I added some (didn't measure it, sorry) and it was wonderful! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spencerquartet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pekin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
OMG!!!, this is a good recipe. I had the good sense to cut the white sugar down to 1/3 cup instead of 1/2 cup. I wish I'd cut the brown sugar to 3/4 cup instead of 1 cup. but OMG!!!, this is a good recipe. I also used honey roasted pecans. 5 stars the way it is, 6 stars if cut back on the sugar a little. Ohyea, I did use the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davebuoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I made this with my Christmas dinner, and it was a hit! The orange zest really gave it an added flavor that was enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hamlin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States