Sweet Potato Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This will be the third Thanksgiving that I will make this casserole. Everyone I make it for loves it but it is very sweet. I've never tried it with the coconut or orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
The hit of last Thanksgiving...and am making it again this year. Only downside, I think, was it is a bit sweet. Don't know what reducing the sugar will do to the overall taste but I'm trying it. Very good but almost like candy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Use less butter than called for, I scratched orange zest on the first batch... will try some other time perhaps. Touch of coconut was yummy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by april

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
My family loves this recipe! Huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
These sweet potatoes were very good. I made them for some New Zealand friends who aren't used to mashing their sweet potatoes or eating them with sugar and they went back for seconds. I would definitely make these again. I did leave out the orange since I didn't have one in the house. I also share the opinion that the topping could be cut in half (and I really love sweet things) if you don't want it so sweet. I also think the egg is noticeable if you think about it, so maybe I'll cut down to one egg next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Governors Bay, Canterbury, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Excellent! A real crowd pleaser. I substituted canned yams for the sweet potatoes. The topping is wonderful, but I think you could actually cut it in half. Plan on making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mthoneybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I love sweet potato casserole and only make it during the holiday's. I tried this recipe this year and didn't care for the orange flavor in it. Will make again but without orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit with everyone!! The only reason i did not give this 5 stars, is because it was way too sweet for me. In the future, I will cut back on the sugar by half in both the sweet potato mixture and the strerusel topping or maybe add more sweet potatoes. My dad is a diabetic, so I used Splenda (brown and white) in this recipe without a problem. As a personal touch, rather than have all of the streusel on the top, I layered the sweet potatoes and streusel twice. This really helped distribute the streusel's crunch and flavor throughout the whole casserole, not just the top. This recipe will now be my first choice for a sweet potato casserole recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I always want to try a recipe exactly how it is listed, but it didn't happen that way for this Thanksgiving. I also didn't have any orange zest or coconut, so they were left out. It also helps if you really read the recipe. The ingredients for the topping were suppose to be set aside, but I didn't read far enough to "set aside" and added it to the mashed sweet potatoes. So I had that plus the rest of the ingredients. I did want that good topping so just used about 1/2 c of br. sugar with some chopped pecans. Even with my goofs, it was still a hit. It wasn't over powering with sweetness. I used Splenda brown sugar combination with real sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This recipe wasn't even worth trying. Too much hype and it was horrible, the orange zest overpowered the sweet potatoes and the nut mixture was not tasty at all. Next time I will do the typical sweet yams with brown sugar and vanilla and cut the nut mixture in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States