Sweet Potato Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I had two Thanksgiving Dinners to go to and made this for both, my 18 year old son came in the kitchen because of the wonderful richness that he smelt. Once he saw this, before I could say that it was to take for a Dinner, he was dishing up a big serving. He ate every bite and had 3rds and he hates sweet potatoes! I made more and it was a instant hit. Also made it for a large church dinner (100+people) I made 40 batches and we still ran out. I was asked for the receipe so much that I printed out over a 100 of them. This is definatly a huge hit at any holiday dinner. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe it will always be on our table. (Southern California)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Gorgeous and easy to make, I did however halve the amount of sugar added to the potatoes and it was still plenty sweet and yummy. The pecan topping is so goooooood! Try it on baked salmon its also extremely good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La maman calîne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This recipe was fantastic!! I had 18 people for Thanksgiving and EVERYONE loved it. Three people asked for the recipe! An 8 serving recipe fit and looked great in a pirex pie dish. I will definitely make this every Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Loved it! Used 1/2 the sugar, dark rum instead of vanilla, and added some ground clove and nutmeg. Turned out perfect:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
If I could rate this recipe higher than a 5, it would be a 10! The first time my husband and I tried it we thought we had died and gone to heaven, the taste was so good. I have it a number of times, with deep fried turkey, as well as baked and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
This is really good, but it might be a little too sweet. The pecans taste great on top. I've always had sweet potato casseroles with marshmallows, but this way is much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I used fresh sweet potatoes, not canned. Only used 1/4 cup of white sugar as I figured it would be sweet enough. Also only used 3/4 cup of brown sugar and the dish was still very sweet. I was in a rush, and forgot to add the flour, but the topping turned out fine. The dish looked great coming out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
yum! holiday favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This dish is excellent. It is very similar to one my Mom used to make. My guest at Thanksgiving enjoyed this dish very much. Rosalie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This casserole is incredible. I used 3/4 white sugar and did the full cup of brown sugar and didn't think it was too sweet...we thought it was just right. This is so much easier than you think it's going to be when you read the instructions, too. This is my second time making it, and it's gone so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States