Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This recipe was really yummy! I was a little skeptical mixing apples, onions, carrots, sweet potatoes and lentils together, but it turned out be so good and hearty. I followed the recipe to the letter and did not deviate on any of the measurements. My husband is not a big soup person, but he loved it so much, he went back for seconds! My kids, ages 5 & 6, loved it too! The plain yogurt added a really good kick, although it probably would have been good with sour cream as well. I will definitely keep this recipe in the file. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JESIJEAN
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This was so good that I didn't want anyone else to eat it but me! I made it for my roommates and they all raved. I made it just like the recipe, and served it with yogurt and a sprinkle of paprika for a nice look Nest time I make it I might add more apple though. It would probably bee great with sour cream too. I also served them with a side of grilled polenta slices, I feel like the soup would be good with something crunchy to eat along with it. All in all I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESIJEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Delicious! I didn't puree it, instead I just made it like a stew. Everyone who tasted it thought it was great. Def will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Love this recipe...so unique by adding the apple. I didn't have red lentils so I used green and I added some red chillies to give it an extra kick. It is very comforting and filing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This soup is delicious! Husband who doesn't like carrots or sweet potatoes really enjoyed this recipe. I added a bit more seasoning at the end (not much) and used a little more apple, but followed the recipe as stated. It is very easy to make - just cut up vegetables & apples and boil until mushy. A hand blender makes it even easier. I added a good amount of water when blending to thin it out a bit... but the soup remained flavorful. This makes a wonderful fall or winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I made a three serving portion of this recipe and think it is fantastic. I enjoy thick creamy soups and appreciate it's healthy ingredients. The only two modifications I made was to omit the salt because I used two vegetable boullian cubes to create the vegetable broth, and I used some variety of brown lentils. A very inexpensive and tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Surprisingly, outrageously good. Even my picky men were repeatedly raving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This recipe tasted wonderful, was inexpensive and easy to make! Everyone thought it was such a delicious and unique combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
followed the recipe exactly and it came out great, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Can't stop making this! It's now in my weekly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 567) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States