Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
A wonderfully filling and healthy fall soup with a lovely mix of flavors. I recommend leaving the veggies, apple, and lentils as is and skipping the pureeing part. That makes it more like a stew than a soup but the texture is much better. Thanks for sharing, will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This was delicious. I made some substitutions based on what I had on hand. I used coconut oil instead of butter, dried ginger instead of fresh, and chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. I also followed some other reviewers' suggestions and added a few cups of chopped spinach at the end and left everything chunky instead of pureeing it. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This soup was easy to make, rich flavor and was a hit with our friends and family. The recipe does not need any changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I halved the chili pepper, since I didn't want it too spicy, and that was perfect for me. I also went with powdered ginger, and only 1/4 tsp since it was not fresh ginger root. The mix of seasonings is perfect. The reviews were incredibly helpful. I didn't puree it (didn't want more to clean), but I think it would be really good pureed. It is a great one-pot dish, with incredible flavor. I was pleasantly surprised at how good it is! Also, I used butter because I ran out of my usual coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This soup tastes absolutely amazing! I made a few modifications, some on purpose and some accidentally, but the soup turned out exactly how I had hoped it would. I love my foods on the sweet side, so I omitted the salt. I'm not a huge fan of ginger except with sushi, so I omitted the ginger as well. I increased the serving size to 10 servings. I ended up putting in 1/3 + 1/4 cup of butter to saute the veggies and apples for the first step. I used approximately 2 small yellow onions, 1/4 of a sweet potato, 4 medium-large sized carrots, and 1 granny smith apple. I stirred and cooked this mixture for longer than 10 minutes, probably more like 20 min. Then, step 2 - I stirred in 2.5 cups of red lentils, omitting the ginger and salt, I added in the ground black pepper, cumin, chili powder, paprika, 2 fresh large garlic cloves and 5.5 cups of chicken broth (boiled water and chicken bouillon powder). I boiled the soup for 10 min, then turned the heat down to medium-high for another 20-30 min. Then I added in 2.5 cups of low-fat milk and 1 tablespoon of non-dairy creamer. I used a potato masher instead of a blender to mash the veggies and apple in the soup to make it a smoother consistency, but didn't want to make it a puree so I skipped the step with the blender. The soup turned out to be perfectly seasoned and sweet and just the right consistency, not too pureed and not too chunky. I was a bit skeptical of adding the cumin and chili powder, but am glad I did. What a delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
"Hey, give this a taste." "Why did you make a whole pot of baby food?" "Yeah..." "Did you try adding the yogurt?" "Yup" "What about Sriracha sauce?" "...Now it tastes like baby food with Sriracha sauce." "Well then... know any hungry babies around here?" This recipe really needs something to give it some kick. Way too bland and boring. Points for being cheap and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
What great favors. I always follow the recipe as written the fist time I make it and then make "my version". Not any changes wil be made for this one in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Extremely easy to make and delicious to boot. Followed directions exactly and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I really liked this! Since I have TMJD I have to eat softer or pureed foods and this one really filled me up! Perfect mixture of sweet and spicy - and adding greek yogurt on top added a hint of sour. I did use red beans since I couldn't find any lentils at all at my normal grocery store. I highly recommend this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This soup is amazing. I used half the salt and regular lentils instead of red. Otherwise I followed it exactly. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 594) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States