Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I was super excited to make this soup per the reviews... I was sadly disappointed in the "lack" of much flavor, maybe I should have doubled all the spices. Unfortunately, this is not something I will make again, which is sad because we are a Family of Soup Lovers.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Didn't puree it. Also didn't have an apple, so added a tablespoon of honey for sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This is my new favourite soup. So tasty and filling. I was making it for the first time so I didn't change anything except I left the skins on since it was being pureed anyway and also left out the salt because I pretty much always leave out the salt. It was fantastic as is and I will definitely be making this again. Probably many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I have now made this several times and it is always a crowd pleaser! I usually use coconut oil instead of butter which has an added bonus of making it vegan. I also almost double the spices, reduce the salt, and if I don't have sweet potatoes on hand, I have used squash with great success! This soup is so versatile and loved by everyone I have seen try it. You won't be disappointed! Today I made a variation by adding red curry paste, coconut milk, and fresh cilantro... It was amazing! Sriracha also goes along nicely. I don't find the yogurt garnish adds much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Just made this and love it! Only changes: I used half sweet potatoes and half regular potatoes, also 2 cloves of garlic and no ginger. I didn't puree, I just mashed a bit when done cooking. I also added a container of cooking cream after I mashed, and 3 cups of cut fresh spinach for the last 5 minutes. YUMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
MARVELOUS!!!!! I made it almost as the recipe except I added 2 star anise pods for part of the cooking time and a generous amount of chilli seeds. I didn't have paprika in my pantry. I used more fresh ginger than the recipe, perhaps 2tsp. I pureed the stew and the consistency & colour was wonderful. I served it with a choice of white baguette or sourdough bread and a dollop of natural yoghurt for each bowl. I made it especially for a dinner party during winter and it was an hit. Thanks so much for this little keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I was a little disappointed in the final product after reading the great reviews. Preparation was labor- intensive with chopping up potatoes and carrots (using nutribullet) . Family did not like taste of the blend of vegetables. However, was hearty, chunky and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Everything was amazing, and delicious until I added the cumin. It overwhelmed my soup, and I ended up throwing out the whole batch. I will make again sans cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TigerMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Very good. I puréed part then at serving time I tossed fresh baby spinach on top. Looked attractive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 567) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States