Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Found the taste of cumin was too overbearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This is a pretty great soup. I was looking at other reviews that suggested leaving the soup as a stew, but decided that the pureed texture was slightly more appealing in this case. I added about 3/4 tsp of some good muchi curry powder, as well as a little cayenne for some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmrscott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevenson, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was nice and pretty easy to make. I used 2 Tbs coconut oil in place of the 1/4 cup butter and didn't have any issues using half the fat called for. I pureed half of it and left the other half chunky as I'm not the biggest fan of pureed soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Absolutely delicious. My husband was able to make it with very little oversight from me! We all had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was so fantastic. I loved it. It felt good to eat something so yummy and so good for you too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as is, but used less butter. It is a superb, restaurant quality soup! Simple to make and was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This turned out fantastic! I'll admit I did edit it a little, using olive oil instead of butter, adding the whole (14.5 oz) can of lentils, and substituting a bit of feta cheese instead of the yogurt. But the soup was delicious! Nice and thick, and very filling with a crusty slice of bread. A great healthy winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I get excited about any recipe that is healthy and that can be shared by my whole family (me, my husband, and my 10 month-old son) without modifications. This recipe fits the bill. I ended up accidentally having to under-season it a bit when I realized too late that I was low on both paprika and chili powder, but that just made it more baby-friendly, and it still had enough flavor for the adults. My husband would probably have preferred this with some bacon sprinkled on top, but I thought it was great as a vegetarian soup. Definitely don't skip the yogurt on this one. I sometimes consider garnishes optional, but in this case the tanginess of the yogurt added necessary contrast to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Do yourself a favor, and MAKE THIS SOUP! I prepared this soup for our annual holiday progressive dinner. Since I usually provide the "soup" portion of the dinner, I wanted to try something a little unique. I was very worried this recipe would be a little odd to most people (and my husband thought I was crazy for trying it on a group of 15 adults), but everyone loved it! I followed the advice of the other reviewers and did not puree the soup. However, since I made the soup the night before the event, the soup kind of pureed itself a bit after sitting for 24 hours. Like the others, I did not find red lentils, so I just used what was available. When I make this again, I will add more lentils - they are so good! I doubled the recipe and was so glad I did - - I had yummy leftovers for 2 days. MY REVISIONS: I sprinkled a bit of pumpkin pie spice on my bowl of soup, which was very yummy! Also - sorry vegetarians, but I added a pound of crumbled sage sausage to give the soup a little more oomph. A great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Whole family loved this soup! Followed the recipe as written and have made it many times. A go to in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 557) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States