Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Super easy to make, delicious and healthy! My whole family loves this lentil recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Wow, this soup is SOOOO sweet. Maybe made for America's sweet tooth but not mine. The over-powering sensation in the mouth is sweet. I ate half a bowl and got rid of the rest. Too bad 'cause it's lots of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
So dang good!!! I used picked sushi ginger (but not the nasty pink stuff) and used a little extra New Mexican red chile powder. Only pureed half and added it back in. Holy this soup is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jonathan Lynch
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Truly excellent flavor! I've never written a review for a recipe before, but felt compelled to do so because this is so good! I followed the recipe closely except for the following: I added 2 stalks celery, used ~2x the amount of cumin and ginger, used yellow lentils instead of red. Didn't use paprika. Garnished with Greek yogurt and cilantro. And I didn't puree it - I generally prefer some texture and chunkiness to my soups. This is really excellent fall/winter soup. Will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonathan Lynch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Made this for the 3rd time tonight and used butter for the first time - it really makes the soup taste a lot better than other fats I've used (olive oil or coconut oil) - also doubled the spicing (except for the pepper), used two onions and about a cup of red lentils. Used my own homemade chicken/veggie broth - about six cups - didn't peel or puree any of the veg, otherwise followed the recipe. Perfect soup for the COLD weather we've been having lately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I thought this recipe was great. I used an immersion blender and blended it to a consistency that was still a little bit chunky. I wouldn't bother with blending if I didn't have an immersion blender, it would just complicate things too much and add too much work. With an immersion blender this recipe was simple and satisfying. Made two changes based on what I had: 1. used olive oil instead of butter 2. used water instead if stock My husband and I found that it was not lacking in flavor or anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
AWESOME! I will definitely be making this again! I added some fresh spinach 5 minutes before it was done, as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
delicious! loved the sweetness of the apple, good idea. I would recommend doubling the recipe, I thought it made too small of a batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Watkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This was great, I have always wanted to try carrot soup. The addition of lentils was interesting,We really enjoyed it. Next time I will add another apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Fantastic! Healthy, inexpensive, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States