Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Delicious! I added a tsn honey to cut the heat and didn't puree it. Originally I made it for my 13-mos old but my husband (who hates vegetables) and I LOVED it! Great as a stew - served with toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Amazing! I was skeptical, but with so many rave reviews, I had to try it. This is a keeper. We served with sour cream (out of yogurt) and it was "lick your bowl" good. I did use red onions instead of white/yellow because it is what I had on hand and green lentils instead of red for the same reason. I also did not puree it as I don't care for that texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheathamama
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
The only thing I did differently was use purple sweet potatoes instead of orange and it was so pretty and delicious!! Very well rounded flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheathamama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Buren, Indiana, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I already had some baked sweet potatoes. So I roasted some carrots and onions till they were soft and over cooked some lentils till they were creamy. Then I threw everything (baked sweet potatoes, carrots, onions, lentils, veggie broth, ginger and spices) right into the blender until it was smooth. I also included some applesauce...and walah...another variation of this recipe without the oil and butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Made the recipe just as described (minus adding the yogurt as garnish). Found it very delicious! I didn't taste the apple as much as I wanted to and I wish the recipe gave a suggestion of the best type of apple to use. I'll continue experimenting with different apples, and will definitely be making this soup a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This recipe is BLAND, just as I expected it to be, so here are a couple hints to take it from blah to WOW! Anytime I cook with aromatics or ground spices, I sauté them before adding liquids. A lot of these herbs and spices only release their flavor under high heat and/or fat. Adding them in with the stock before sautéing is basically just wasting them. So, take the time to slightly brown or caramelize (lightly brown, not burn) the veggies and apples, then add in the spices, ginger, and garlic and stir for 30 seconds, or until they are very fragrant. Continue on with the recipe from here on out. Purée or not, according to your own palate! I like mine as a stew with more texture, personally. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Best soup I have had in a very long time!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela MacDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Easy and delicious to make, Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Super easy to make, delicious and healthy! My whole family loves this lentil recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States