Sweet Potato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
OH MY GOD, I HAD MY FAMILY FIGHTING OVER THE SIZE OF THE SLICES OF CAKE ON EASTER. MADE IT WITH THE BUTTER CREAM FROSTING, WHAT A HIT. WOWWWWW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Wonderfully spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Delicious ... I left out the raisins .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by ANGELGIRL94
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Cake turned out light, moist, and delicious. I didn't have dark brown sugar on hand so I used light brown. Couldn't find the allspice so I used nutmeg instead. I increased the amount of sweet potatoes to 1 1/2 cups and added a cup of sour cream for extra moistness. I frosted the layers with cream cheese frosting. This cake has the perfect texture with just the right level of spice. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This cake is wonderful. Moist and very good flavor. You can still taste the sweet potato even tho there's only 3/4 cup. I put 1 cup of rasins and run them through the chopper with a little of the Bmilk. I put Cream Cheese Frosting on it. I took it to a Church Supper. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
Wow! This was a pleasant surprise. It tastes a lot like carrot cake, but different enough that you can tell it is _not_ carrot cake - prompting enquiries of, "What the heck is in here?" No one ever guesses potatoes! This takes about 2 or 1.5 regular sweet potatoes. The batter is wonderful and will make a cake with two layers nicely. Mine did sag a bit in the middle after cooling but were still great. I frosted with Caramel Frosting, which I just realised now I forgot to add the vanilla to. A chewy moist cake that keeps well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I made this cake for some island friends and love it. I used canned sweet potatoes instead of fresh and added orange extract to the icing to enhance the orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I made this cake twice and each time the people I served it to said it was delicious and moist. I didn't make them in two separate pans but in a single 9" spring form pan and baked it for 40 minutes instead of 30 minutes. Another thing I did do the second time around was whisk together the mashed potato and the milk to blend it more evenly as the first time the potato was more clumpy. I also reduced the white sugar to 1/2 a cup as I found it a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I made this to use up some extra sweet potatoes I had leftover from Thanksgiving. It had a nice flavor, basically tastes like a spice cake similar to carrot cake. The texture was quite dense though, so I'm not sure I'd make it again. I like my cakes nice and fluffy. Next time, it's carrot cake or nothing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Gan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States