Sweet Potato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
OH MY GOD, I HAD MY FAMILY FIGHTING OVER THE SIZE OF THE SLICES OF CAKE ON EASTER. MADE IT WITH THE BUTTER CREAM FROSTING, WHAT A HIT. WOWWWWW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Delicious ... I left out the raisins .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I made this to use up some extra sweet potatoes I had leftover from Thanksgiving. It had a nice flavor, basically tastes like a spice cake similar to carrot cake. The texture was quite dense though, so I'm not sure I'd make it again. I like my cakes nice and fluffy. Next time, it's carrot cake or nothing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Gan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Wonderfully spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Cake turned out light, moist, and delicious. I didn't have dark brown sugar on hand so I used light brown. Couldn't find the allspice so I used nutmeg instead. I increased the amount of sweet potatoes to 1 1/2 cups and added a cup of sour cream for extra moistness. I frosted the layers with cream cheese frosting. This cake has the perfect texture with just the right level of spice. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I made this cake for some island friends and love it. I used canned sweet potatoes instead of fresh and added orange extract to the icing to enhance the orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This cake is wonderful. Moist and very good flavor. You can still taste the sweet potato even tho there's only 3/4 cup. I put 1 cup of rasins and run them through the chopper with a little of the Bmilk. I put Cream Cheese Frosting on it. I took it to a Church Supper. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I made this cake twice and each time the people I served it to said it was delicious and moist. I didn't make them in two separate pans but in a single 9" spring form pan and baked it for 40 minutes instead of 30 minutes. Another thing I did do the second time around was whisk together the mashed potato and the milk to blend it more evenly as the first time the potato was more clumpy. I also reduced the white sugar to 1/2 a cup as I found it a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
Wow! This was a pleasant surprise. It tastes a lot like carrot cake, but different enough that you can tell it is _not_ carrot cake - prompting enquiries of, "What the heck is in here?" No one ever guesses potatoes! This takes about 2 or 1.5 regular sweet potatoes. The batter is wonderful and will make a cake with two layers nicely. Mine did sag a bit in the middle after cooling but were still great. I frosted with Caramel Frosting, which I just realised now I forgot to add the vanilla to. A chewy moist cake that keeps well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States