Sweet Potato Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Delicious! I've made with turkey sausage and with lean pork sausage and both were great. I took it for a work potluck and had requests next time to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I served this recipe at my annual Christmas brunch and it was a hit. My daughter is a vegetarian so of course she loved it. I used the veggie sausage patties and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J C
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I love this recipe! I started a Paleo diet and this fits in perfectly. I replaced the vegetable sausage with turkey sausage, and it is perfect! I also cut the recipe in half and baked in a smaller dish and reduced the bake time to 45 minutes. The size was better for my family of 4. I love that I can make it the night before and then stick it in the oven in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I've made this dish half a dozen times and even my carnivore eating friends love it. They don't care that it's made with vegetarian sausage. I really lighten up on the cheese - too much cheese takes away from the rest of the flavors in the casserole. It is a bit of a pain to shred the potatoes but if you can get thru that, the rest is easy! And worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This was an excellent dish. I used sweet sausage which I browned without water. I also used 9 extra large eggs as that was all I had. Finally, I was lazy and did not feel like chopping up the spinach, so I just threw in the baby spinach leaves and tore in half a few of the really large ones. The only thing to be careful of was the baking time, mine was overdone and slightly burnt in the corners when I checked it at 50 minutes, so next time I will check in 40 minutes. This was probably my fault as I baked it in a glass baking dish and did not adjust the temperature. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DylanKip

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I made this for 15 people for Thanksgiving morning- it was a hit! Delicious flavor. We used full fat cheeses, hot pork sausage, no water, and frozen (unthawed) kale from our garden. What I would do differently is: first sautee the onions with butter and garlic, bake the potatoes rather than shredding them, and spoon the baked potato with butter into the bottoms of the pans. This way the casserole bake time is only 30 minutes (for hungry morning people). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
WOW! This was great. I didn't tell my son it had sweet potatoes in it and he loved it. Everyone loved it and wants me to make it again. A great healthy meal for breakfast. I used regular sausage instead of vegetarian but will try vegetarian another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This was a delicious idea! I did make some tweaks though... Instead of the vegan sausage I used turkey breakfast sausage and instead of cottage cheese I used 1/2 a block of cream cheese because I already had it in my refrigerator. Thank you for this post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I really liked this dish a lot. The sweetness of the sweet potatoes gave it a unique flavor. The next time I make it I will add more spinach. I also think I will omit the cottage cheese and add milk instead. I did use already cooked turkey sausage crumbles. And I will add Roma tomatoes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
WOW just wow! This was amazing I was so surprised! I ended up using a few large handfuls of finely chopped broccoli instead of spinach and a couple more veggie sausage links. Added salt and pepper to the filling as well. Topped with some hot sauce and I was in heaven! I burnt my mouth on my first piece because I was trying to eat it so fast! You really can't go wrong with this recipe, its wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States