Sweet Potato Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I loved it! I turned it into muffins, decreased the sugar, used applesauce instead of oil and used less nutmeg. My family really enjoyed these. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
DELICIOUS!!!! Believe it or not, I made this at home for my family but was not planning to eat any because I don't particularly like bread. When I saw that no one at home was touching the sweet potato bread at home, I gave some to my dad, my mom's health aide, and today I finally tasted the bread and it is Delicious! I plan to do this more often at home so that I can have breakfast for work. Hooray to the recipe maker!!! 5Stars*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Amazing! I cut this recipe in half and used a 15oz can of sweet potatos drained and mashed but keep everything else the same. A new family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I reduced sugar to 2c, and substituted 1/2c. unsweetened applesauce and 1/2c. coconut oil for the 1c. oil. I didn't have orange jiuce, but I did have tangerine/pineapple blend. I also added dried cherries and slivered almonds to batter. I also added a small amount of flaxmeal. I sprinkled brown sugar on top and made 24 muffins. I baked for 25 minutes. Out of the oven, they were moist and not too sweet. Perfect! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berry Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I reduced sugar to 2 c., used just 1/2 c. of oil, and added 1/2 c. ground flaxseed instead. I was out of allspice, so I used 1/2 tsp. ginger and 1/2 tsp. black pepper. Yummy--my whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This recipe was an excellent foundation for a sugar free version. Instead of the 3 cups of sugar I used 1 cup unsweetened applesauce, 1 Tablespoon pure maple syrup, and a little less than 1/2 teaspoon pure Stevie extract powder (we prefer Kal brand with no filler). I also prefer them as muffins. This recipe also works great with wheatfree flour such as Pamela's gluten-free bread mix and flour blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I had some dribs and drags left over in my fridge and went searching for a recipe to use them and discovered this TREASURE. So moist and flavorful. I shared a loaf with family members, and this gorgeous bread was loved and appreciated by all. Like other reviewers, I reduced the sugar to 2 cups (3 definitely would have been way too much!), and used 1/2 cup vegetable oil and 1/2 cup applesauce. This recipe is a KEEPER! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I did as suggested and used the juice from the canned sweet potatoe, good idea! I also added 1/4 t ground clove. :) The bread burned a little before it was done. Next time I will bake @ 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I love this I made muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittani Nordheim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I am finding that I make this bread all the time. I always cut the sugar in half to make it not so terribly unhealthy, and I also substitute in half whole wheat flour to make it a little more hearty. In a pinch I once substituted freshly squeezed grapefruit juice for the orange juice. Always comes out perfect and super yummy! A huge hit with my family and friends! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States