Sweet Potato Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I loved it! I turned it into muffins, decreased the sugar, used applesauce instead of oil and used less nutmeg. My family really enjoyed these. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
DELICIOUS!!!! Believe it or not, I made this at home for my family but was not planning to eat any because I don't particularly like bread. When I saw that no one at home was touching the sweet potato bread at home, I gave some to my dad, my mom's health aide, and today I finally tasted the bread and it is Delicious! I plan to do this more often at home so that I can have breakfast for work. Hooray to the recipe maker!!! 5Stars*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Amazing! I cut this recipe in half and used a 15oz can of sweet potatos drained and mashed but keep everything else the same. A new family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I reduced sugar to 2c, and substituted 1/2c. unsweetened applesauce and 1/2c. coconut oil for the 1c. oil. I didn't have orange jiuce, but I did have tangerine/pineapple blend. I also added dried cherries and slivered almonds to batter. I also added a small amount of flaxmeal. I sprinkled brown sugar on top and made 24 muffins. I baked for 25 minutes. Out of the oven, they were moist and not too sweet. Perfect! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berry Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I reduced sugar to 2 c., used just 1/2 c. of oil, and added 1/2 c. ground flaxseed instead. I was out of allspice, so I used 1/2 tsp. ginger and 1/2 tsp. black pepper. Yummy--my whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This recipe was an excellent foundation for a sugar free version. Instead of the 3 cups of sugar I used 1 cup unsweetened applesauce, 1 Tablespoon pure maple syrup, and a little less than 1/2 teaspoon pure Stevie extract powder (we prefer Kal brand with no filler). I also prefer them as muffins. This recipe also works great with wheatfree flour such as Pamela's gluten-free bread mix and flour blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I had some dribs and drags left over in my fridge and went searching for a recipe to use them and discovered this TREASURE. So moist and flavorful. I shared a loaf with family members, and this gorgeous bread was loved and appreciated by all. Like other reviewers, I reduced the sugar to 2 cups (3 definitely would have been way too much!), and used 1/2 cup vegetable oil and 1/2 cup applesauce. This recipe is a KEEPER! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I did as suggested and used the juice from the canned sweet potatoe, good idea! I also added 1/4 t ground clove. :) The bread burned a little before it was done. Next time I will bake @ 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I love this I made muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittani Nordheim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I am finding that I make this bread all the time. I always cut the sugar in half to make it not so terribly unhealthy, and I also substitute in half whole wheat flour to make it a little more hearty. In a pinch I once substituted freshly squeezed grapefruit juice for the orange juice. Always comes out perfect and super yummy! A huge hit with my family and friends! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States