Sweet Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I altered this recipe for a gluten free, lower glycemic and lower fat version...It was great!! I Used 1/2 cup each of Coconut and Brown sugars, I used 1/4 Cup Oil with 1/4 Cup and 1/8 Cup Plain Greek Yogurt and I replaced the flour with a Gluten Free All Purpose Baking flour. For the water, I substituted 1/3 Cup coconut water. I blended the everything but the flour and spices in a blender then added it to the flour mixture. I used 2 9X3 loaf pans and reduced baking time to about 45 minutes or when toothpick inserted comes clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Pretty good. Lightly spiced and similar to banana bread. Subbing some of the sugar with brown sugar does improve the flavor. If you use Splenda for the sugar and are making muffins with paper cups, spray the paper cup with cooking spray before adding the batter. This will help with any sticking issues (I loose a bit to the paper if I don't). I used the walnuts I had on hand. Fill the tins mostly full with batter for a full muffin size. Bake for 45 minutes. Makes 6 big muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxy Felix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Wonderful!!! 8 year old are half the loaf!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I used this recipe to make jumbo muffins! Perfectly moist and delicious ! I substituted the water for evaporated milk I had exactly 1/3 cup leftover from another recipe. I will be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This was a great recipe! I used less sugar, about 1 cup and used walnuts instead of pecans. I also made muffins instead of bread. Tasted sooo good with a little melted on it. My toddlers who do are on a veggie strike loved them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I will be making this agai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I used less than 1/3 C. of water, swapped applesauce for the oil and left out the pecans. Yielded 20 muffins, baked at 350 for approx. 20 minutes. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
It's delicious and moist BUT waaay too sweet! Think the sweet potatoes already add a lot of natural sweetness so will definitely cut the sugar in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monica_forme
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
It was good only because I only used 1 cup of sugar, sweet potatoes are already sweet enough. I used a golden sweet potato instead of yams. substituted the water with milk. Pureed the milk and potatoes together first. I used cupcakes instead and only baked for 30 minutes. added chocolate chips and oats on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Timothy Geisick
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
entered this bread into a local bread baking contest, won first place for quick breads, and first place for People's choice! awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States