Sweet Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Perfect when you only need one loaf of bread and don't want to be stuck with two around the house. To save time I cooked the sweet potatoes in the microwave, 6 minutes a piece. You can get away with using just one sweet potato to get a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachcook623

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Very yummy!! I made these a "lighter" version than the recipes also I was out of regular white sugar! I substituted Splenda Blend for the sugar, whole wheat flour for the all purpose flour and unsweetened applesauce for the vegetable oil. I also used a container of pre cooked and mashed sweet potato found near the fresh-ready to cook potatoes. These came out delicious and moist and not overly sweet at all! I made a double batch and pured some into a loaf pan and the rest onto a muffin tin with muffin liners. Because there is no oil n this batter, they stuck to the papers after cooking, so I probablywill either spray the liners next time or just use the loaf pan. These were awesome! thanks for the recipe Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Bake
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This was so yummy! A couple of changes I made: I used 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 white sugar and substituted walnuts for the pecans. Next time I will put batter into two pans so that it will bake faster. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Bake
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
We tried a yam (which is biologically similar but different from a sweet potato) for dinner tonight and no one liked it. So I used it up with this recipe. I cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup and used dark brown sugar. It was plenty sweet. I added about 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla, and subbed 1/2 cup sour cream for the 1/3 cup water. Made 12 muffins. It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kle_sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willowdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
These are wonderful! I did substitute applesauce for the oil and used 1/2 br. sugar and 1/2 white sugar. I plan on making muffins next w/ this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
added 2cups sweet potatoe and 1/4c more flour and 1/2tsp of baking pwdr. and a little more water as to make 2 loaves. excellent and will make more often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Excellent bread. Moist, dense and just the right sweetness. Has become a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Englewood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Simply delicious! Even if you are not fond of sweet potatoes, this is a winner. Extremely moist and made a huge hit! I have received more requests for this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Very tasty. I'll definitely be making this again to use any leftover sweet potatoes. :-) I had to modify it a bit because I didn't have oil. I used 1/2 cup butter flavored Crisco, and it still came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
We really liked this moist, tasty bread. I did follow the recommendation to use half white, half brown sugar. It took the full hour to cook and I would suggest flouring the pan after greasing. I will definitely make this again next time we have "leftover" sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrscatschool

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States