Sweet Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Made into muffins with a oatmeal crumb topping. I used half whole wheat & half bread flour - came out VERY tender! Needs a bit more spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Subbed in 3/4 c whole wheat flour, used mashed banana instead of vegetable oil, cut the sugar to 1c and it is delicious. I think I'll make it to share with the neighbors for the holidays. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Excellent sweet potato bread! Good texture and flavor. I tend to like things with more spices, though, so I added cardamom and ginger in addition to the cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Pretty good if you have extra sweet potatoes on hand but I prefer Pumpkin bread over this any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Excellent! Very moist, and it has a great crumb. The taste is very similar to banana bread. The second time I made this I added a little more cinnamon. (I love cinnamon.) My husband loves the crust on this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I usually avoid sweet potato/pumpkin breads because I find them to be too heavily spiced. This recipe is fabulous because the spices compliment rather than overpower the flavor of the sweet potatoes. The recipe makes a very moist bread. I chose to make muffins with the batter and enjoyed super moist muffins with just the right amount of spice. I added a cup or so of chocolate chips to the batter for a tasty twist. This recipe is now part of my permanent recipe file. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Excellent recipe. I did add a 1/4 cup of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Good stuff! I cut the sugar back to 1 c. total and used 1/2 c. white and 1/2 c. brown. Mine was done in 50 minutes. I even caught my husband (who doesn't like sweet potatoes) going back for a second slice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was surprisingly light considering it's a potato bread. I prefer brown sugar in my baking and I decreased the amount slightly since I was concerned it would be too sweet. It was really good. I made it again and took the advice of another reviewer and used orange juice instead of water and that was good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
YUM! It has a lot of sugar and isn't a light and fluffy recipe bc of the sweet potatoes but it is very yummy! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States