Sweet Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
love it ! I've actually made it a few times. I roast my yams with a touch of brown sugar and cinnamon before mashing them up. I've also used cream or milk instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
followed other reviewer's suggestions, applesauce instead of oil, not as much sugar, half brown half white, and whole wheat flour for half of the flour. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
OH MY GOODNESS THIS IS GOOD...GREAT FOR FALL. I MADE A MARSHMELLOW FROSTING AND SPRINKLED PECANS ON TOP....I AM GOING TO TRY WITH A CREAM CHEESE FROSTING..WOULD MAKE GREAT CUPCAKES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
a little hard, going to add some apple sauce of sour cream to soften it up next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Super moist and super yummy! My niece is allergic to eggs, so I just substitue some apple sauce and this is as close to "cake" as I can get for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
These are very yummy. Even my VERY picky three year old ate them. I followed the recipe except I used apple sauce instead of the oil. I made them into muffins. It made 12 plus a mini loaf pan. It took about 30 mins for the muffins and 35 for the mini loaf at 350. I will make this again! Anyway to get my picky eater to eat something with veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I made this as listed except I didn't have any nuts. I was making some sweet potato pies and had some potato mixture left; so the potatoes had other stuff in them (nutmeg, allspice, cinnamon, vanilla, eggs, butter, etc). It came out well. Nice, moist bread! The next time, I used heavy whipping cream instead of water. The cream really did the trick. And instead of a greased pan, I melted 1 tbsp butter and 2 tbsp vegetable oil in the loaf pan as I preheated the oven and then poured the batter into the hot, sizzling pan. The crust was amazing!!! Because of the butter in the potatoes, the extra fat in the cream, and the oil I added to the pan, I would reduce the vegetable oil to 1/3C if using left over pie (potato filling) or if adding heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aesj22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This was fantastic! I followed other suggestions of reducing the sugar to 1 cup. I substituted the oil for apple sauce and increased the spices. Everyone loved it!!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
My bread came out a little dry and brittle. I would replace the oil with 1/4 cup of butter and only cook for about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States