Sweet Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Fabulous recipe! I don't normally like the typical sweet potatoes recipes but this was so different. Very sweet and moist, almost like a pumpkin bread or banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
this was wonderful. my daughter in law, who hates sweet potatoes, loves it. i used canned sweet potatoes as well, it was on hand. and upped the water a bit and added a hand full of oatmeal. delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This is one of the most delicious things I ever ate! Seriously, it was delicious made exactly as the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Pawloski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Love it! I used brown sugar (cause that is all I had) and 3/4 cup of whole wheat flour. I only used cinnamon, but did add vanilla and butter extracts. Used canned sweet potatos and used the liquid from the can for the water and ade a simple glaze for the top. This was much more a cake than bread, so moist and tender! Absolutely will be a favorite and much made! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicxstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Really tasty. I cut back the sugar to 1 cup and even then it was just verging on too sweet, so definitely feel free to cut back on the sugar. Additionally, I only used 1 egg and then substituted the other egg with 1 tablespoon of corn starch dissolved in 1/4 of a cup water. I definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Great taste, moist and best of all. . . easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I loved this recipe! I decided to double it because 1 loaf just didn't seem enough for me. Considering how yummy it is, maybe I should've kept it at 1 loaf. I baked my sweet potatoes and squeezed them out of the skin while they were still warm which kind of allows you to skip the mashing plus it retains the nutrients better. I did make a few changes to the recipe: I used 1 stick of butter instead of oil, 1 1/4 cups sugar, added 1/8 tsp ginger, and used milk instead of the water. I also left out the nuts because I didn't have any on hand. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I used 2 parts butter and 1 part melted coconut oil for the vegetable oil, used milk kefir instead of water (buttermilk would work too), used about 1 part of coconut flour for every 4 parts of wheat flour, substituted sucanat for white sugar, used a little mashed winter squash mixed in with the sweet potatoes, and tossed in a generous handful of chocolate chips at the end. This recipe freezes really well, so I like to triple it so I can tuck a couple of loaves into the freezer for later -- of course, I have to do it quickly and hide it in the back of the freezer before my family gobbles it all up! Next time, I might try using ground ginger instead of nutmeg. Thanks for this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by METG

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Absolutely yummy. Didn't add the nuts as my family don't like them but it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Barnes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Husband, who happens to be a chef, requests this bread. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States