Sweet Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
a beautiful presentation. The flavor was bland. It needs something. Maybe it will be better in the morning after the flavors blend?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Wonderful! This recipe is so moist and our family has soy and dairy allergies so I was delighted to find the recipe calls for oil instead of margarine or butter , of which I used canola oil. They are great with or without nuts. I doubled the batch and used 1/2 for a loaf and the other half for muffins. They needed to be baked for aprox. 22 minutes. Thank you for posting this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I have made this many times. I substituted apple sauce for oil and splenda for sugar, also have used wheat flour for 1/2 and it turns out perfect everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very good recipe. Even my son who does not like sweet potatoes loved this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made it exactly as written the first time and it was fantastic, but 5 stars-worth when I added 1/4 tsp lemon oil and a cup of chocolate chips. This sent my guests into ecstasy and has my hubbie asking me to make it again. Lemon oil is not the same as lemon extract, so if you use lemon extract, use 1 Tbsp and reduce the liquid by the same amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
**** great taste with the 1/2 tsp allspice added, but too moist in middle with 1 stick of butter in place of oil. Otherwise tasted really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honbrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Great, I used leftover sweet potatoes for this, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Doubled the recipe. Some changes were: 2 cups white and 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup of applesauce, 4 eggs, whole wheat flour, 2 tsp baking soda, salt, 2 tsp cinnamon, 2 tsp vanilla, a little less than 1 tsp nutmeg, water, and 2 1/2 cups of organic yams. Family loved it. Ended up with 3 large loaves and all devoured within 2 days between 3 adults. Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Great recipe! Did like other reviewers suggested and used half brown sugar and half white sugar. I also couldn't find my nutmeg anywhere, so I used allspice instead, and did what I always do for sweet breads and used unsweetened applesauce in place of oil. Turned out great. I just made it last night, and this morning it is all gone, my kids and hubby loved it as much as I did! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UTMomof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Tasty! I added apple juice instead of water and alot more spice it baked a little longer than a hour for me. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States