Sweet Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I made this for the first time last week since I had some leftover sweet potatoes. It was so delicious that I made a second batch just days after because we gobbled it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miasmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
These were super easy to make and tasted really good. I had no white sugar so I used 1 cup of brown sugar and I ommited the nuts because I didn't have any at home & I used muffin trays instead of bread pans- with these changes they were still so good. I will definitely make them again and next time I will add the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Oh my goodness! This bread is so moist and delicious. I ate 1/4 an hour after it came out the oven. My only change was to double the cinnamon and nutmeg. I will defintely make it again because it was so easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Awesome. I have a hard time not eating the entire loaf myself! I substituted a stick of butter for the oil and omitted the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Delicious. I used applesauce instead of oil and only added sugar to the sweet potatoes before baking them. It was moist, sweet and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Very good, My kids loved it.. I used a 1/2 cup of sweet potato and 1/2 cup of banana. TURNED OUT GREAT. MAKES GREAT FRENCH TOAST TOO!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marmit78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Fantastic! And easy to make even healthier. I used 1/2 cup applesauce instead of oil. I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar, but with the other changes (below), next time will probably only use the 1/2 cup brown sugar. I added 1/2 cup pineapple tidbits and used 1/3 cup of the juice instead of water. This makes it naturally sweet and you can cut back on the added sugar! I kept the pecans - yeah, a few more calories, but nuts are good for you in moderate quantities! (I also left out the nutmeg... I like it but felt it might be too overpowering in this recipe). With these changes, I got 17 muffins. It took 23 minutes to cook the first dozen at 350 and 21 minutes to cook the last 5 (also at 350). With the recipe I made, each muffin was only 132 calories (but tasted like more!). With only 1/2 cup of brown sugar, it would eliminate a further 23 calories per muffin. Awesome! Note: You WILL need extra cooking time if you replace the oil with apple sauce, and if you add moist ingredients like pineapple. A tip: to "lightly" grease a pan, spray a small amount of Pam on the tin, then use a paper towel to grease the muffin cups. It goes a long way with way less oil or butter than traditional greasing. Also, if you have an old muffin tray... it may just be time to invest in a new one. They're less than $10 and so worth it! Happy Baking! Edit: These don't rise *that* much... next time I will fill the cups and make a dozen larger muffins (obviously increase baking time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Made this today, followed recioe with only 2 minor additions, 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice and about a half cup golden raisins I had on hand. It turned out excellent. I have enough to freeze (I made one medium loaf pan and 2 mini-loaves) so I will see how well it freezes. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I made this bread on boxing day for something a bit different to go with our family Christmas supper. It's excellent, everyone loved it and it really does freeze well. I did however leave out the pecans as I am not a fan of nuts in my baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Easy and good, but could be sweeter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States