Sweet Potato Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Probably only used about 8C of liquid and replaced half of that with chicken stock (just added more water until it was a consistency we liked). Also used 4 sweet potatos and 3 large white potatos. Very nice and lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I didn't like this at all but hubby liked it. If I make this again, I will be trying it before I add the buttermilk and spices to see which spice didn't agree with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
i added a few extras like cloves, carrots, cinnamon and sugar. nice consistency, and excellent flavor, thanks for the guide!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I was very disappointed by this soup. It smelled SO good when I was making it but there seems to be far too much water. It turned out very bland and in order to save my efforts I threw in a package of dry veggie soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I expected more flavor from this recipe. The taste of the sweet potatoes was minmal even though they were roasted to carmelize the sugars and enhance the flavor. The ratio of broth to water should be bit higher. I added a little brown sugar and hot paprika later which raised the recipe from 3 to 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This was good. I did it with about 9 sweet potatoes (no regular potatoes), about 6 or 7 cups of milk and no water or chicken stock, a cup of apple juice, subbed garam masala, chili powder,fresh grated nutmeg, & cumin for the other spices. Added a little brown sugar at the end. It was just sweet and spicy enough for us. I think the buttermilk was the only thing i kept, and it was good. I just added some vinegar to a couple cups of milk and put that in at the end after pureeing. I will keep this but I would never make it with just water. I like creamy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bitchin Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Sorry, just wasn't for me. I don't even think that it was the recipe necessarily. I guess I just don't care for this in general. I found it to be rather drab and just not worth it. (I like sweet potatoes, but they just don't seem to be enough to pull off a soup.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
This was a wonderfully creamy soup. I served it with a crusty baguette bread at a 5 course meal to a bunch of girls at camp. They loved it! It was missing something, however. I never quite put my finger on what it was actualyl missing, but something was a little off. It was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
The proportions on this seem very off. The recipe says it serves eight but it made a lot more than that. This sounded really good but turned out quite dissapointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I had a sweet potato bisque when I was back in college that reminded me a lot of pumpkin pie -- I was hoping that this recipe might get me something similar. I made a few changes to start -- I upped the number of sweet potatoes to 4, and regular potatoes to about 2.5. I used regular baking potatoes, but I think Yukons might work better next time. Along with the onions and garlic, I sauteed about a 1/3 cup carrots. I decreased the water to 6 cups, and made up the difference with chicken stock. After the spices were added, I also added about 3/4 cup brown sugar (slightly too much), about 1 generous tablespoon cinnamon, and a full pint of lowfat buttermilk. While the spices do give this dish a zing, the sweet potato flavor is sorely lacking. I will likely up the number of sweet potatoes next time to 5 or 6, and definitely cut back on the amount of regular potatoes, nutmeg and thyme as they were a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States