Sweet Potato Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
What a different treat this was. The recipe is super fast and easy and is something you don't get every day. I served it with home made soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clayville, New York, USA
Living In: Westmoreland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
This recipe has been a staple since I discovered it a few years ago. I used it again tonight to put on top of a chicken pot pie. It got rave reviews!! I put a pecan praline glaze on the left overs and it was the perfect complement to this light fluffy biscuit. Thanks a gain for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Mott, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I have made these biscuits again and again. Even my husband who hates sweet potatoes loves them. I use half whole wheat flour and they always turn out tall and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
My whole family loved these biscuits from me,my husband, to my 3 and 1 year old. I did however use a little more potato and I didn't boil my potatoes I microwaved them like baked potatoes and just scooped out the meat. Worked great and alot less hassle. I will be using this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
What a surprise to have something turn out exactly as described. After reading the reviews, I omitted the sugar and used sweet potato pie filling for the sweet potatoes. Solved the spice issue. I cut them out small and will use as appetizers with ham. Thanks Cynthia B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
MMMM! These were delicious home-style biscuits! I used leftover mashed sweet potatoes and carrots from Christmas dinner and they turned out beautifully! They had such a pretty golden orange color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Yum, yum:) I really liked these and I normally don't like sweet potatoes. I will be making this again and again!:) Thanks for sharing!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This was delicious! I made it exactly as shown but doubled the recipe and added 1/2 tsp cinnamon. They would be wonderful with a little honey butter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Amazing! So light and fluffy-- just the perfect texture. The flavor (per recipe without modifications) is well-suited to either serve as a sweet (with a glaze topping, cream cheese, or powdered sugar) or a savory dish (on the side with soup or chili). I doubled the batch and made one pan of thinly rolled dough cut with a leaf-shape cutter-- perfect size for snacking. The second pan I made the rolls as directed. Next time I will add some more spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves) and experiment with pumpkin as well. Thanks for the awesome recipe! I look forward to using it over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I'm giving these biscuits 5 stars because I thought the flavor was great. I also had 3 other approvals. For some reason they didn't rise very much, maybe I didn't bake them quite long enough. I used 2 med. sized yams (or sweet potatoes) and microwaved them until they were soft. Let them cool a bit and then dug out the potato. I added 1 Tbs. of brown sugar and 1 tsp. cinnamon to the dry ingredients. I also used real butter in place of the shortening. Next time I'll try with whole wheat flour. Used honey, cinnamon butter on top. Served with beef stew and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States