Sweet Potato Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This was a good recipe. The first time I tried it, the biscuits came out dry. So this time, I doubled the butter (which is what i used instead of shortening), added an extra teaspoon of baking powder, I also eyed my milk as the recipe suggested only adding enough to make it into a ball. I also left my sweet potatoes a little undone so i had little flecks of sweet potatoe pieces cooked nicely in the biscuits and cooked them a little slower on 375 instead of 400. they came out very nice and tender. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RasheedsWife

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I'm giving these biscuits 5 stars because I thought the flavor was great. I also had 3 other approvals. For some reason they didn't rise very much, maybe I didn't bake them quite long enough. I used 2 med. sized yams (or sweet potatoes) and microwaved them until they were soft. Let them cool a bit and then dug out the potato. I added 1 Tbs. of brown sugar and 1 tsp. cinnamon to the dry ingredients. I also used real butter in place of the shortening. Next time I'll try with whole wheat flour. Used honey, cinnamon butter on top. Served with beef stew and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
YUM! Make these! I made mine drop biscuits so I didn't have to make a mess on my countertop and they turned out great. Served them with cinnamon honey butter. FYI 3/4c is about two small sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
These are sooo delicious!!! I make em pretty often. I use butter, not shortening - after cutting in small pieces with a knife, you just have to use your hands for several minutes and keep squeezing the dough to get the butter mixed in completely. Just keep going until the dough mixture crumbles are pea-sized or smaller. The biscuits are so much better if you add extra cinnamon, sugar and raisins. Soak raisins in warm water for 8 min, drain, before mixing into the dough. I never cut the biscuits, just use my hands to make small balls and flatten them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clemson, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Erfurt, Thüringen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
mmm, i'm eating it right now. i used margerine instead of shortening and added a little extra baking powder (to help it rise, after reading the reviews), about a half tablespoon of brown sugar, some cinnimon, allspice, and nutmeg. i microwaved the sweet potato for 10 minutes after poking holes in it and wrapping it in a damp paper towel to soften it. i give it 4 stars because the flavor is still not fantastic, and i don't think it would have been very good at all without the additions. note: make sure you add milk slowly. i didn't use the full 1/4 cup, and that's probably why some people have trouble getting their biscuits light and fluffy. add milk until everything just sticks together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Delicious recipe and easy to follow. I used whole wheat flour and it made the biscuits a little heavy, but still perfect for a dinner compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Amazing! So light and fluffy-- just the perfect texture. The flavor (per recipe without modifications) is well-suited to either serve as a sweet (with a glaze topping, cream cheese, or powdered sugar) or a savory dish (on the side with soup or chili). I doubled the batch and made one pan of thinly rolled dough cut with a leaf-shape cutter-- perfect size for snacking. The second pan I made the rolls as directed. Next time I will add some more spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves) and experiment with pumpkin as well. Thanks for the awesome recipe! I look forward to using it over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
We liked them extremely well. They'd be great with a chicken salad for a luncheon. They're just super hot from the oven. I bet kiddies would love to munch on these sweet and tender morsels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I have made these biscuits again and again. Even my husband who hates sweet potatoes loves them. I use half whole wheat flour and they always turn out tall and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I agree with others that the recipe calls for too much salt. I used a scant 1/2 teaspoon and it was still a little too much. Other than that, I really liked these and will make them again. I was out of sugar and used honey and used soy milk instead of dairy milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States