Sweet Potato Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Delicious. I licked the dough off my fingers after mixing it! I patted out balls of the dough instead of rolling and cutting and that worked well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Great recipe! Wish I had cut back on the salt, as recommended. I used coconut oil instead of shortening, half of the flour was whole wheat, and I laid them out on the pan with sides touching to keep them soft. The texture is marvelous and the flavor a fun change. Can't wait to enjoy them with syrup for breakfast. I made the batch multiplied by ten to use up potatoes, so it even works in bulk, and my six and four-year-old sons helped roll them out and they still were flaky and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I added some cinnamon and brown sugar when I made these and they were great. I put some raisins in about half of them and they added a nice texture. Highly recommend them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Really yummy biscuit, but don't expect a huge sweet potato flavor. I used a fresh, mashed sweet potato and before I incorporated it into the flour mixture, I mixed in a little brown sugar, cinnamon, and butter to give it an extra bit of sweetness. Although the biscuits don't really taste sweet-potatoey, they are still really good and the sweet potato gives them a really nice texture. I slathered some store bought cinnamon butter (country crock) right on top and OH MY GOSH. AAMAZINGGG. I highly recommend doing this. It transformed the flavor. Made it a million times better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Tasty, tender, easy biscuit recipe with one minor flaw: For my taste, this contains too much salt. One half or 3/4 teaspoon would have been about right, as other members suggested; wish I'd noticed that in the reviews beforehand. We love these with a thin slice of pan-fried turkey ham. Served plain, they're a hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CERRADANCE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I thought these were great . . . and EASY! Had some leftover mashed sweet potatoes from Thanksgiving and whipped them into these little gems. My husband loves them with a little honey. I made exactly according to recipe except cut the salt to 1/2 tsp as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
We had leftover Sweet Potato fries and made them into mashed potatoes (1st steaming to soften) with some milk, butter, nutmeg, cloves. They worked excellently in the biscuits! We also added some cinnamon and nutmeg to the recipe to add some flavor. These were delicious with honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Wish I had read the reviews before making these...I agree there is too much salt and I could taste the baking powder....texture was good though and they did raise well....probably won't make again....used a whole cup of fresh cooked sweet potato but still couldn't taste it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This is a pretty good recipe. It's just not as sweet I would like for it to be. But I would definitely make it again adding more sugar and some brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ClassyToya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
My first time making biscuits, and these came out almost perfectly! Better than most store-bought ones I've had. My only problem was that these were too salty! Next time, I'll use either half or 2/3 the amount specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States