Sweet Potato Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
The boyfriend who swears up and down he doesn't like sweet potatoes gobbled these up last night. Delish! as written. The marshmallows were sort of ugly. Maybe I'll try with fluff next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Delicious. I add cinnamon and nutmeg to the mashed sweet potatoes, which added some additional flavor. Very, very sweet though- nearly a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was a very good idea, though I think next time I would add an egg and some flower to firm them up. I also used butter pecan syrup instead of maple. The cornflakes were my favorite part, very nice texture. This recipe went over well for Christmas Dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tijeras, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I have mixed feelings on this recipe. The mixture was very runny making it difficlt to form the mix into balls. The balls were flat and not really firm balls. I even tried putting the mixture into the refrigerator for a little while before I rolled it into balls hoping it would firm up; but that didn't work all that well. My feelings are mixed because I ordinarily wouldn't make a recipe with results such as this again; however despite how it looked two people at the table, who otherwise do not care for sweet potatoes, actually liked it so I'm going to keep it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
almost sorry I brought these last year, now it's an obligation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This was a delicious recipe! We order these at a restaurant in town and my sister loves them. I made this recipe and she said it was even better than the restaurant's version! I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Pretty good if you like sweet potatoes. Making the casserole tastes about as good and is easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMILAM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
These were very good and I will make again. I used cinnamon flavored corn flakes and true maple syrup. If anything, they were too sweet. A very nice change from traditional sweet potato casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I thought these were alright. I thought the cornflakes would make them crunchy, but they turned out soggy instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Clover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
I think I made a different recipe altogether because I assumed that the balls were going to be mushy to work with and mushy inside so I used fresh baked potatoes and mashed those instead. Then I mixed in butter, brown sugar, cinnamon, cream cheese, one beaten egg, the crushed corn flakes, and a couple tablespoons of self-rising flour. Then I floured my hands and took some of the mixture, placed 4 to 5 miniature marshmallows inside, then rolled them into a ball and baked. I put one marshmallow on top during the last few minutes of baking. They tasted great! They tasted like sweet potato pie inside with a crusty outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States