Sweet Potato Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
I think I made a different recipe altogether because I assumed that the balls were going to be mushy to work with and mushy inside so I used fresh baked potatoes and mashed those instead. Then I mixed in butter, brown sugar, cinnamon, cream cheese, one beaten egg, the crushed corn flakes, and a couple tablespoons of self-rising flour. Then I floured my hands and took some of the mixture, placed 4 to 5 miniature marshmallows inside, then rolled them into a ball and baked. I put one marshmallow on top during the last few minutes of baking. They tasted great! They tasted like sweet potato pie inside with a crusty outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was a very good idea, though I think next time I would add an egg and some flower to firm them up. I also used butter pecan syrup instead of maple. The cornflakes were my favorite part, very nice texture. This recipe went over well for Christmas Dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tijeras, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
We always have sweet potatoes for the Holidays, but decided to fix these because they were a little different. Got rave reviews and now fix them for a gathering, even if it isn't a Holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I thought these were alright. I thought the cornflakes would make them crunchy, but they turned out soggy instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Clover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This was a delicious recipe! We order these at a restaurant in town and my sister loves them. I made this recipe and she said it was even better than the restaurant's version! I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I have mixed feelings on this recipe. The mixture was very runny making it difficlt to form the mix into balls. The balls were flat and not really firm balls. I even tried putting the mixture into the refrigerator for a little while before I rolled it into balls hoping it would firm up; but that didn't work all that well. My feelings are mixed because I ordinarily wouldn't make a recipe with results such as this again; however despite how it looked two people at the table, who otherwise do not care for sweet potatoes, actually liked it so I'm going to keep it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
Delicous recipe! The balls were mushy to make but worth it. The maple syrup really adds to this since the sweet potato mixture itself wasn't sweet enough. I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
This recipe was wonderful. Very tasty. The only problem I had was keeping them in the nice little balls. I ended up putting all the balls in a bowl and mixing. Still tasted grate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
almost sorry I brought these last year, now it's an obligation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
The boyfriend who swears up and down he doesn't like sweet potatoes gobbled these up last night. Delish! as written. The marshmallows were sort of ugly. Maybe I'll try with fluff next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States