Sweet Potato Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
The taste was pretty good, but I love sweet potato. These were not balls at all and they were so runny that I had a hard time "coating" them with the corn flakes. Overall, I might try this again, but I would use fresh sweet potato so I could control the consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice Fillingim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
These were not good for me. I'm not sure if it was the crunch of the corn flakes or what. My brother really liked them. In fact he gobbled up almost the whole pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I customize it a little bit by adding a little more brown sugar (we like it sweeter). But I've made it as the recipe states and it's perfectly yummy, too. How I make it just depends on what we're having it with. Those in my family who loves sweet potatoes love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
These were to soggy to roll into balls. I tried adding some flour - but it needed so much flour to be firm enough to roll into balls that they tasted too gross to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
My family ate more sweet potatoes when I made this recipe (Thanksgiving 2005 and 2006) than in the last ten years put together. The first year, I didn't get the dish made early, so dumped the sweets into a casserole, drizzled syrup (unmeasured - I was in a hurry), and sprinkled corn flake crumbs. This year, I made the balls, but after they baked, they flattened out. Although they tasted great and were still popular, they were nicknamed 'mounds' and 'lumps'. I thought they looked like 'moguls'. So now they will be Sweet Potato Moguls. PS: did not use marshmallows. Just have never like them on sweets. The corn flakes and maple syrup were the perfect touch without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This really needs brown sugar mixed in with the potatoes. I also added a little vanilla, formed the ball around the marshmallow then rolled in coconut. I served maple syrup on the side for those that wanted to add it after the balls were cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
Came out soggy. The corn flakes were rubbery, not crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
I gave this recipe a go , and my wife and kid's loved it .so I think it is going to be a holliday tradition in my home for many years to come
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
These came out a little soggy for my liking. But the people I made them for seemed to like them. I'll stick with the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
what an inpressive and different way to serve sweet potatoes, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLINKETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States