Sweet Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Really good. My husband doesn't eat sweet potatoes and he liked it. My changes were to use 4 1/2 cups of potatoes, omit the white sugar entirely (sweet potatoes are already sweet) and use 1 1/2 T. of butter in the potato mixture instead of 3. I kept the topping as in the recipe. It's a flexible recipe. You could eat this for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANASTASIAJANE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
This was amazing! Everyone thought it was a hit! The hint of orange is what I think makes it so great. I only used 1/4 of the white sugar it called for and everyone said it would have been too sweet if I had used the amount of sugar the recipe calls for. Try using 1/8 cup of sugar instead of the stated 1/2 cup and see what you think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
I made this receipe for my boyfriend and his mother and father.....What raves I got about it. I baked the potatoes in the oven at 400 for an hour and then followed the receipe. I only add a little more cinnamon. This an absolutely great receipe for any time of the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
very good,we loved it cut back on the sugar and it will be perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Yummy and sweet, but sweet potatoes don't need this much sugar! I decreased the amount, but I felt it was still too sweet. Next time I'll only add 1/4 cup of brown sugar, if even that. Otherwise it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
If you are a sweet potatoe eater, you have to try this. Cut the sugar in half. It was delish. Great dish to take for potluck. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Awesome! I made it without the nuts, as my husband is allergic, and was worried that it would negatively affect the taste, but it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I made this for holiday and wasn't impressed. No one really ate it. I will stick to traditional candy sweet potatos next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trac689

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Awesome. Easy. MMMMMmmmm. I'm no chef at all and this was sooo good. My husband said it was like something his grandma would have made. Big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Family members who said they didn't like sweet potatoes were surprised it was so good. I didn't have nutmeg so I substitutes pumpkin pie spice for the nutmeg and cinnamon. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States