Sweet Pork for Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Delicious! We had this last night and it was a big hit. The only thing I changed is that I used the low setting on my crock pot. We've found a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Okay, I am the guy who submitted this recipe, and it's a huge family favorite. To cut the calories (and the sweetness factor), I use only 1 cup brown sugar. (Two more notes: you may use diet cola and you do not need to puree the salsa.) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
It was a nice change from other pulled pork I've tried. The smell while it cooked was nice but the sweetness of it took a little to get used to.I think it's because I've never had anything cooked with cola and my tastebuds weren't used to it ,but in the end I must say it was very yummy.My husband loved it and my son ate it too so that tells me it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
When my youngest daughter and her family lived in New Mexico, we would ALWAYS go to Costa La Vida Mexican Restaurant for the "Sweet Pork Tacos." I've been looking for an acceptable recipe ever since. And, this one is it!!!! I am so happy. It's easy, it's sweet, and I could take a bath in it. Makes the best Sweet Pork Tacos in the world. Thanks for posting this wonderful pork recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
So delicious! I made five pounds of this, and my family ate it up! We put it in a taco shell with a little cheese, then cooked it like a quesadilla. It was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reynata

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Loved it! The only thing I did different was I only added 1 cup of brown sugar instead of 2 because it sounded way too sweet and I am glad I did because it was perfect, it would have been WAY too sweet if I added two. It's great to as a salad topper or a yummy sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I thought there needed to be a staple added in with the coke, like mushroom soup or something. The pork was good but tasted too sweet and soda-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarissaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Totally awesome recipe. I love Costa Vida sweet pork and this was as close as I have found. I only had diet soda on hand so as the recipe creator suggested I used that. I also reduced brown sugar to 1.5 cups to reduce the calories a bit. My husband said this was the best thing that has ever come out of the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Craving Cafe Rio or Costa Vida sweet pork? This is the recipe for you! Soooo Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I was kind of leary of using 2 cups of brown sugar sounded like a lot but I made exactly as the recipie and it turned out fantastic. Thanks Dean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States