Sweet Pork for Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This was good and sweet. I cut back a cup on the brown sugar and used diet pepsi, it was the only cola I had on hand. It was too sweet, needs some savory added somewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Good flavor but not great prep directions. I tried this the way the directions said and just ended up with a tough pork roast that was bland. The second time I did this I first seared the roast (like I normally do) and added all the ingredients right away plus I used the LOW setting on my slow cooker for 8 hours. Much better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Best pulled pork recipe ever. I cut down on the brown sugar only putting 3/4 C. My husband loved it. This is a new favorite. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Fantastic! Made it with the 1 cup sugar and it was perfect! Great for those of us far away from Cafe Rio and Costa Vida and their fabulous sweet pork burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This was amazing! I did use half the sugar and skipped the chilies as it had enough spice for us already. I always puree salsa in recipes like this (personal preference) and that helped blend everything together. I blended some of the juices from the meat into re-fried beans which also went into the burritos, that I then froze and have been enjoying ever since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by historygal22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This is by far my favorite recipe for "taco" night. I have tried it with pork, chicken and even beef. It works best with pork but the other two are nice alternatives too just to switch it up. I tend to add a can of rotel instead of the salsa and I have used diet colas and even dr. pepper. All taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Chapman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I cut the sugar down to 1 cup. It's not exactly like Costa Vida but close enough! Loved it! After cooking, I put it in my Kitchen aid to shred it. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Fantastic! Used 1 cup of brown sugar and didn't bother to puree the salsa. Suspect diet soda would work fine. Ate on tortillas with chopped green onions and cilantro. Cooked on low over night and then a few more hours on low with the seasonings. Let it sit overnight in the fridge and then heated it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I thought this recipe was wonderful! I went by the recipe except I used pork tenderloin because that is what I had on hand - but I think just about any pork would work. I will definately keep this one on hand. Thanks Dean for fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Just made this and it is fantastic!! I added a little bit of taco sauce to my burrito and the contrast between the sweetness of the pork and the little bit of heat from the sauce was awesome! Will use this from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States