Sweet Pork for Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Just made this and it is fantastic!! I added a little bit of taco sauce to my burrito and the contrast between the sweetness of the pork and the little bit of heat from the sauce was awesome! Will use this from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Thank you Dean for this amazing recipe. The only changes I made were to use 1 cup of brown sugar like other reviewers suggested, I didn't purée the salsa, and I used cherry coke. I served with Mexican rice, corn, tomato, cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Punkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
In 5 years using this site, this is my favorite recipe. So good; so versatile. Great in burritos, over rice, on top of salads, etc. So, so good. Helpful hints: - I use a 4lb pork shoulder (because this is so good you'll want leftovers for the week) - I initially cook the pork with the fat on (fat side up in the water), then remove the fat when I cut into quarters and add all the other stuff - Fire roasted salsa makes this great - 1 cup brown sugar is plenty - recommend 3 tbs fajita seasoning and 3 tbs taco seasoning (even a smidge more of both) - The "taco seasoning I" recipe on this site is awesome if you don't have any taco seasoning on hand. Makes the perfect amount for this recipe too. Enjoy. Leftovers heated up and served on top of a salad dressed with ranch = heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
SOO good!! Like many others I only used 1 cup of brown sugar and was glad I did, it was still very sweet but balanced nicely with the taco/fajita seasoning! We didn't have any salsa on hand so i used a can of "chili ready" tomatos instead and it was DELICIOUS! Definitely a new staple in our house! My husband wants to try it as pulled pork sandwiches next time w/sweet BBQ sauce on it! YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nappanee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
LOved it next time will use less sugar but was so good lil spice was great. My family loves to fry soft shells to a crispy gordita type shell and it made it even better. pretty much just a pan cover bottom in oil heat and lay shell in couple seconds then flip and removed and fold over a rolling pin to get taco shape. YUMMY!!!!! also just put cabbage on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Excellent! My husband and I both loved this. Used only 1 cup of brown sugar per suggestions from the reviews when I made it for the 2nd time and it was still sweet and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Loved this!!! So easy! Put cilantro, bell peppers, onions and sour cream in my tortilla and thought it taste AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
OMG! Best pork I ever had! Best burrito I ever had! My son and I LOVE it! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rockey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
OK, so can I say, best recipe I have found here for years! I did cut back the brown sugar (but just because I didn't have enough) and I did not have a taco seasoning so I just used pepper, chili powder and cumin. I didn't have a roast so I used pork chops and less time in the crock pot. I fed it to my picky husband and son the first day on flour tortillas with cheese and they LOVED it! Next day I took it to work and had it as a salad with lettuce, rice, tomato, onion, cilantro, avocado, cheddar cheese and a dressing and fresh lime juice. The comments from them were, "Better than Café Rio", "Best lunch ever", and "can I have more?". Thanks for the Recipe, I will be making this often! Next I will try it on a bun!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
This pork kicks butt! I use a habanero salsa and the sweet hot flavor is incredible, much better than cafe rio sweet pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States